Guidelines Released for 2014 Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowships

Share Article

Five $25,000 fellowships to be awarded to Midwest-based visual artists

News Image

Five selected contemporary Midwestern visual artists will each receive a $25,000 Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowship made possible by The Efroymson Family Fund, a donor-advised fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.

Established in 2004, the Fellowship program was created to increase awareness of contemporary art in the Midwest. The intent of the Fellowship is to reward creativity and encourage individual visual artists by supporting their artistic development. The Fellowship program has distributed $825,000 to 40 contemporary Midwestern visual artists since its inception.

Fellowship categories are restricted to Installation, Sculpture and New Media, and selection criteria is based upon: quality and skill; creativity and uniqueness; commitment to developing the work; and impact the award will have on the artist’s career. To be eligible, artists must: Be age 25 or older by May 8th, 2014; a resident of either Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota or Wisconsin as of May 2013; and make a commitment to reside in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota or Wisconsin for the duration of the fellowship (September 2014-September 2015).

Fellowship applications will be accepted beginning Monday, March 24th, 2014 through Thursday, May 8, 2014. Artists interested in applying for the 9th round of Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowships can access the complete guidelines and application on the Central Indiana Community Foundation website ( and also at

For additional information, applicants should contact Mary Johnson at maryj(at)cicf(dot)org, or

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mike Knight
+1 317 6316542 Ext: 187
Email >
since: 02/2012
Follow >
Central Indiana Community Foundation
since: 02/2012
Like >
Central Indiana Community Foundation

Visit website