Author N. E. Brown Will Be at Galveston Book Shop in Galveston, TX., Sat., April 19, 2014, 2:00-4:00 PM to Sign All Three Books in the Series: Galveston, 1900, Indignities

Share Article

The story is distinctly imagined, thoroughly researched and a brilliantly plotted series.

After arriving in Galveston, Texas, from England, at the turn of the century, a young courageous fifteen year-old girl, Catherine Eastman must face a new life in an orphanage after her mother is murdered by a drifter shortly after they arrive. The drifter, David Brooks, has his own dark past and a passion for prostitutes and beautiful women and often leaves them dead. A young man, ten years older than Catherine, gets permission to marry her and take her from the orphanage on her sixteenth birthday. Love and passion ignite as the two fall in love but Brooks' next conquest is Catherine!

Persuasive historical drama unfolds in Galveston: 1900, Indignities, (Book One: The Arrival) by author N.E. Brown, as she commendably peels back the veneer of time and place to deliver an enthralling tale. An intriguing and soulful incarnation of the period which is captured with notable flair, a scrupulous eye for detail being ever present. It is evident in the intricacy of her plot, but never more so than the vim with which she imbues her characters. All of which are well observed and ably developed within the context of her engrossing tale. It's a compelling read that courts dark overtures, with a number of harrowing scenes. Not overtly graphic, but certainly memorable, with some unique and inspired twists which are sure to keep readers hooked to the very last page.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Nancy Brown

+1 (903) 752-2900
Email >
since: 05/2009
Follow >
N E Brown
since: 08/2013
Like >
Visit website