Chicago Shorts Festival Awards Event Set for April 14 at Siskel Film Center

Share Article

Robert Morris University-Illinois is hosting the 2014 Chicago Shorts Festival. College students from around the world have submitted entries and the winners will be announced on April 14 at the Gene Siskel Film Center.

News Image
Awards Night for the Chicago Shorts Festival is April 14

Media Call

What: Chicago Shorts Festival – A Collegiate Film Competition Awards Event

Who: Hosted by Robert Morris University Illinois

When: April 14, 2014, 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm

Where: Gene Siskel Film Center, 164 N. State Street, Chicago

Free and Open to the Public; RMU Contact: Shelley LaMantia, 773-844-1717 or slamantia(at)robertmorris(dot)edu

Over the past two months, college students from around the world have submitted entries to the 2014 Chicago Shorts Festival. On April 14, 2014, the winners of the event will be announced and their submissions will be screened at the Gene Siskel Film Center at 5:30 p.m.

The Festival is a venue for collaboration and fosters community among college students, providing them a forum to tell a story, have their voices heard through film, and to be recognized and awarded for their work. It is open to all college students worldwide, regardless of country, major or school they attend. It is free to enter and free to attend.

Entries were received from around the world including Australia, Poland, Venezuela, and Spain. In the US, students from NYC, California and Illinois participated.

There are five categories: Animation, Comedy/Parody, Documentary, Dramatic Narrative and PSA. Prizes will be awarded in each category as long as the entries received a qualifying score. Entries are judged on Originality and Creativity, Pacing and Structure, Cinematography, Entertainment Value, Overall Quality of Production and/or Script.

First place = $1,000 Cash prizes provided by Robert Morris University – Illinois
Second place = 1 year subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud provided by Adobe
Third place = Adobe backpack provided by Adobe

The Judges:
Dawn Westlake, Ron de Cana Prods., Inc.
Josh Hester, The Storyteller Studios
Sharon Karp, Media Monster

We are thrilled at the response to this competition and are excited to reward these students for their outstanding work! We hope to see a big crowd at the event to help them celebrate!

The 25 highest scoring films will be screened in the RMU Auditorium on April 10, 2014 at 5:30pm, located at 401 South State Street, Chicago, IL. It is free and open to the public. All entries can be seen at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Shelley LaMantia

Nancy Donohoe
Visit website