International Education Society Elects New Leadership: Wilkins Assumes Kappa Delta Pi Presidency

Share Article

Kappa Delta Pi elects officers to guide the strategic vision for the Society's 2014-2016 biennium.

They all have a formidable commitment to the organization and, in working collectively, will help move Kappa Delta Pi forward by reaching out to our membership in new ways.

Kappa Delta Pi (KDP), International Honor Society in Education, has elected leaders to serve in the Society’s highest leadership posts for the 2014–2016 biennium, with terms beginning July 1, 2014. Every two years, members of KDP elect this Executive Council to guide the strategic vision and initiatives for the international association and oversee its financial resources.

The Council will be led by President Dr. Elizabeth A. Wilkins, who has been a member of KDP since 1993, a Society volunteer since 2000, and a member of the Executive Council since 2012, most recently serving as Vice-President. She is Professor of Education in the Department of Leadership, Educational Psychology and Foundations at Northern Illinois University.

Dr. Wilkins has focused much of her research on teacher leadership and preparation, including the supervision, induction, education, and training of preservice teachers. She has presented more than 150 workshops at the state, regional, national, and international level; published more than 30 articles; written book chapters, among them one in the upcoming KDP-published book The Power of Teacher Leaders (Dr. Nathan Bond, editor); and authored two books, including KDP’s The Induction Connection (with co-author Dr. Mary C. Clement). Dr. Wilkins earned her doctorate from Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

Other elected Council members for the 2014–2016 KDP Executive Council are:
Dr. Peggy L. Moch, President-Elect (Valdosta State University)
Dr. Susannah Brown, Vice-President (Florida Atlantic University)
Dr. Denisha Jones, Vice-President (Howard University)
Dr. Erin Brumbaugh, Member-at-Large (Davis and Elkins College)
Dr. Victoria Tusken, Professional Representative (Geneva [IL] Middle School South and Northern Illinois University)
Ryan Stivers, Student Representative (Lake Forest College)

By virtue of her current office, Dr. Mary C. Clement (Berry College) will assume the office of Past-President. Dr. Carl A. Grant (University of Wisconsin) has been appointed to be the Laureate Representative to the Council.

“I’m looking forward to working with the new Executive Council, especially because of the deep and varied educational experiences each individual brings to the group,” Dr. Wilkins said. “They all have a formidable commitment to the organization and, in working collectively, will help move Kappa Delta Pi forward by reaching out to our membership in new ways.”

For more information about Kappa Delta Pi and the 2014–2016 Executive Council, visit


About Kappa Delta Pi
Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education, is a 501 (c) (3) organization established in 1911 to recognize and promote excellence in education, provide a reasoned voice for significant issues, and link learning communities of educators. Through its programs, services, and strategic partnerships, KDP supports the professional growth and teaching practices of educators throughout all phases and levels of their careers. The organization currently has more than 600 chapters and an active membership that exceeds 40,000 worldwide.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Laura Stelsel
Kappa Delta Pi
+1 (317) 829-1550
Email >
Visit website