Entertainment Gets Real About Mental Wellness & Substance Use Recovery With 18th Annual PRISM Awards Honors for CBS, Lifetime, ABC, Showtime, NBC, MTV, Nickelodeon

Share Article

Julia Roberts, Will Estes, Allison Janney, Justin Chambers, Chandra Wilson, “Elementary,” “Blue Bloods,” “Parenthood,” “Scandal,” Nurse Jackie,” and the cast of “Call Me Crazy” among top awards.

Celebrating the ART of Making a Difference

The PRISM Showcase, hosted by Dr. Drew Pinsky and highlighting the winners in a magazine-style show, will air nationally on flagship airing partner FX Network

The Entertainment Industries Council, Inc. (EIC) announced the winners for the 18th Annual PRISM Awards tonight at a star-studded ceremony in Los Angeles. The PRISM Awards honor TV, movie, music, online, and comic book entertainment that accurately depicts drug, alcohol and tobacco use and addiction, as well as mental health issues. The awards are in partnership with FX Network.

In the Feature Film categories, winners were Home (Entertainment One) in the Mental Health category and The Spectacular Now (A24) in the Substance Use category. The feature film performance award went to Julia Roberts for her role in August: Osage County. For Comedy Series, the winner was Nurse Jackie: Season 5 (Showtime). In the category of Performance in a Comedy Series, Allison Janney was honored for her role in Mom (CBS). In the area of Drama Multi-Episode Storylines, awards went to Elementary (CBS) for the substance use category and Parenthood (NBC) for the mental health category. This was Elementary’s second consecutive win and the fifth award for Parenthood in four years. Drama episode awards went to episodes of Blue Bloods and Scandal for mental health and substance use respectively. Performance winners in these categories were Will Estes of Blue Bloods, Justin Chambers of Grey’s Anatomy and Chandra Wilson of Grey’s Anatomy.

Call Me Crazy: A Five Film (Lifetime) earned the PRISM Award for TV Movie or Miniseries, and the PRISM Awards ensemble performance honor which was collected by cast members Octavia Spencer, Jason Ritter, Ernie Hudson, Lea Thompson and Mitch Rouse. Agnes Bruckner received Performance in a TV Movie for her role in Anna Nicole. For daytime drama series, honors went to Days of Our Lives (NBC), which this year won its fourth PRISM. In the Teen or Children’s Program arena, the winner is an episode of Nick News with Linda Ellerbee (Nickelodeon). Nick News has won twice before. Lauren: Season 2 was honored for Original Internet Program, with Troian Bellisario earning Performance in an Internet Program. This is the first year online programming has been recognized. Documentary winners were The Anonymous People for feature film, Life Continued (MTV) for mental health, and True Life (MTV). Unscripted Non-Fiction went to Extreme Weight Loss (ABC), Talk Show Episode went to The Doctors, and Public Service Project went mtvU’s Half of Us. Comedian Brody Stevens was honored with the EIC President’s Award.

Additional attendees included Anthony Anderson (Guys with Kids), Robert Patrick (True Blood and From Dusk Till Dawn: The Series); Alicia Witt (Justfied); Kate Linder (The Young & the Restless); Windell Middlebrooks (Body of Proof); Carly Steel (TV Guide Network); Tim Matheson (Hart of Dixie), Sharon Lawrence (The After), Alison Haislip (The Morning After), Dee Wallace (Grimm), Mackenzie Phillips, A.J. Cook (Criminal Minds), Tasha Smith (For Better or Worse), Katie Cassidy (Arrow), Michael Lomenda (Jersey Boys), Grant Bowler (Defiance), Peter Parros and Jaclyn Betham (The Haves and Have Nots), Greer Grammer and Nikki DeLoach (Awkward), David Chisum and Amy Holden Jones (Black Box), Phillip P. Keen (Major Crimes), Teri Polo (The Fosters), Laura Bell Bundy (Anger Management), Adrian Pasdar (The After), Raphael Sbarge (Once Upon a Time), Benjamin Stockham (About a Boy), radio personality Shadoe Stevens, Paul Petersen, and movie legend Margaret O’Brien.

Among networks, CBS and ABC came out on top with 4 wins apiece, followed by MTV (3), NBC and Lifetime with 2 each, and Nickelodeon and Showtime with 1 a piece. CBS Studios/CBS Television Distribution took the number one slot among studios with 4 wins, followed by ABC Studios (3), Sony (2), and Warner Bros., Weinstein Co., Universal Television, and Lionsgate with one each.

The Nomination Review Committee of over 80 representatives of both the entertainment industry and health field, selected the winners from nearly 400 productions submitted, according to Brian Dyak, President and CEO of EIC.

Also at the ceremony were the winners of the EIC’s Generation Next college student competition for authentic mental health storytelling in film/TV, journalism and social media.

The PRISM Showcase, hosted by Dr. Drew Pinsky and highlighting the winners in a magazine-style show, will air nationally on flagship airing partner FX Network in September during National Recovery Month, followed by addition cable, broadcast, video on-demand and web streaming outlets over a six month window. Additional interviews and exclusive behind-the-scenes footage will be made available following the ceremony on EICnetwork.tv.

About Entertainment Industries Council
EIC is a non-profit organization founded in 1983 by leaders within the entertainment industry to bring the power and influence of the industry to communicate about health and social issues. This mission relies on providing resource information to the creative community and culminates in recognition of the industry through the national television special PRISM Showcase and SET Awards. http://www.prismawards.com

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Skylar Jackson

Larry Deutchman
Visit website