ACM Honors International Leaders Who Helped Advance Computer Science in the Digital Age

Share Article

ACM today honored leaders from international academic and community organization who helped build the infrastructure of computer science as a critical discipline in the digital era. As innovators, overseers and educators in their respective institutions, they made possible the dramatic progress that has enabled computer science to contribute to science and society and change the course of history.

They made possible the dramatic progress that has enabled computer science to change the course of history.

These recipients will be recognized with ACM awards for leadership and service at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 21, in San Francisco:

Gerhard Goos of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Juris Hartmanis of Cornell University, and Jan van Leeuwen of Utrecht University, recipients of the ACM Distinguished Service Award for their definitive role in establishing computer science as a vibrant subject. Their stewardship as series editors of the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), published since 1973, launched this series into a highly visible platform for disseminating research results from all areas of the nascent computing field. At a time when researchers often worked in isolation, they provided a widely read forum for exploring new areas, enabling dissemination of ideas, and offering initial exposure to young researchers.

Donna Cappo, ACM Director of Special Interest Group Services and Russell Harris, ACM Director of Financial Operations and Budgeting, recipients of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award. Cappo was recognized for leadership in guiding ACM Special Interest Groups, related conferences, events and the countless volunteers who organize and run them. Harris was honored for his long tenure as ACM’s financial leading light, whose keen business acumen is responsible for accounting practices that continue to strengthen ACM’s fiscal structure.

Mehran Sahami of Stanford University, recipient of the ACM Presidential Award for leading the revision of an innovative computer science curriculum that reflects the application of computing tools in a wide variety of disciplines. Sahami led the effort by ACM and the IEEE Computer Society to develop guidelines for undergraduate degree programs that redefine essential computing topics and set the standards for computer science education worldwide for the next decade. The report, CS2013 Computer Science Curriculum Guidelines, includes examples of flexible courses and curricula models for a broad range of higher education institutions worldwide.

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Virginia Gold
+1 (212) 626-0505
Email >
ACM - Association for Computing Machinery
Like >
Visit website