Dade Moeller Experts Advance Field of Radiation Safety at Annual Health Physics Society Meeting in Maryland

Share Article

Dade Moeller's radiation protection experts will educate, lead, and exhibit at the 59th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society, July 13-17 in Baltimore.

Radiation safety firm Dade Moeller began operations on August 1, 1994.

Dade Moeller Celebrates 20 Years of Service This August!

Dade Moeller experts will present five technical sessions, four employees will serve in leadership positions, and the company will jointly sponsor the welcome reception.

Fourteen Dade Moeller health physicists radiation protection scientists will convene at the convention center in Baltimore, Md., from July 13–17 to share technical expertise and promote the future of radiation safety at the 59th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society.

Dade Moeller experts will present five technical sessions, four employees will serve in leadership positions, and the company will jointly sponsor the welcome reception. Additionally, the Society will honor the company’s namesake and leader in the field of health physics, the late Dr. Dade W. Moeller, through one lectureship and three scholarships. A long-time affiliate member of the Health Physics Society, Dade Moeller employs more Certified Health Physicists than any other company in the United States.

The ORAU Team supporting the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Dose Reconstruction Project is pleased to sponsor the Health Physics Society Opening Reception at the 2014 annual meeting. The sponsor companies on the project are Dade Moeller, MJW Technical Services, Inc., and ORAU. This Team has been working the NIOSH project since September 2002.

Dade Moeller staff members will present the following technical programs during the meeting:

Sunday, July 13, 8:00 a.m., Eugene (Gene) H. Carbaugh, Professional Enrichment Program: "Where Did This Come From? Lessons Learned from High-Routine Bioassays"

Monday, July 14, 7:00 a.m., Gene Carbaugh, Continuing Education Lecture: "The 1976 Hanford Americium Accident – Then and Now"

Monday, July 14, 3:30 p.m., Doug Draper, Science Teacher Workshop: "Cincinnati Radiation Society (Chapter) Experience"

Thursday, July 17, 8:45 a.m., Gene Carbaugh, Internal Dosimetry Section: "Excreta Sampling as an Alternative to In Vivo Measurements"

Thursday, July 17, 2:45 p.m., Matt Moeller, Waste Management Section: "Energy, Economics, and Health Physicists"

Dade Moeller staff members will serve in the following leadership roles during the conference:

Sean Austin, of the company’s Gaithersburg, Md., office, has served on the society’s Local Arrangements Committee for the past year and will be active throughout the week, ensuring the success of the local event.

Darrell Fisher, a nuclear medicine physicist and staff member of Dade Moeller’s health care subsidiary Dade Moeller Health Group, LLC, is the current president of the Health Physics Society. Fisher will chair the first day’s plenary session, providing the introduction and welcome to meeting participants. With the close of the meeting, Fisher will begin his one-year term as the society’s past-president, as former employee Barbara Hamrick begins her term as president.

Tracy Ikenberry will participate in executive meetings as he embarks on his second of a 3-year term as an elected member of the Health Physics Society Board of Directors.

Company CEO Matt Moeller will serve as Parliamentarian at the Board of Directors meetings on July 13 and 17 and as Chair of the Waste Management session.

During the Society’s Plenary Session on Monday morning, July 14, Dr. John D. Zimbrick will receive the Dade Moeller Lectureship Award following his presentation on the topic of “Low Dose Radiobiology Studies and Radiation Dose Limits: Is the Knowledge Gap Narrowing?” A professor at Colorado State University, Zimbrick’s areas of interest are in radiological sciences, radiation dosimetry, radiation biology, radioisotope methodology, and radiation instrumentation. His research centers on increasing our understanding of the molecular mechanisms by which radiation produces adverse health effects. In addition, his research programs include the development of new biomarkers and biodosimeters for the detection and quantitation of radiation effects, and drugs for the modification of radiation response through the use of biophysical instrumentation, methodologies, and the tools developed by molecular biologists.

The Dade Moeller Lectureship Award is made possible through the Dade Moeller Fund, established in 2009. The Fund is independently managed by the Health Physics Society, using funds bequeathed by the company. The lectureship award enables the Society to invite and support distinguished experts to share their knowledge with the membership at meetings.

During its Annual Awards Banquet on Tuesday evening, July 15, the Health Physics Society will recognize the three recipients of the 2013–14 Dade Moeller Scholarship Award: John Brogan and Jessica Gillis, both Health Physics graduate students at the Colorado State University (Fort Collins), and Trang Marquez, who works at the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance and is pursuing her Master’s degree in Health Physics through the Illinois Institute of Technology online degree program. The scholarship awards, managed by the Health Physics Society and funded through the Dade Moeller Fund, support the costs associated with each student’s participation in this year’s Health Physics Society meeting. The scholarship also includes a monetary award of $2,000, which was distributed in September 2013, to support the students’ academic expenditures. All scholarships honor the memory of the late Dr. Dade W. Moeller, the company’s namesake and a leader in the field of health physics. The scholarship awarded to Marquez memorializes the late Certified Health Physicist and Dade Moeller employee Kelly H. Austin.

Throughout the week, Dade Moeller representatives will be meeting with long-time colleagues and discussing corporate capabilities with potential clients, partners, and employees in the exhibit hall at space #600. As in past years, Dade Moeller will have a prominent space in the hall, located near the lounge area, with tables and chairs set up within the booth space to facilitate professional fellowship and “cross-fertilization” of ideas. This year, the company’s exhibit will celebrate 20 years of service to the field of health physics. Dade Moeller, Matt Moeller, and Steve Merwin began company operations on August 1, 1994.

Headquartered in Richland, Wash., Dade Moeller & Associates Inc. is a nationally recognized firm that provides a full range of professional and technical services to federal, state, and commercial clients in support of safety, radiological, and environmental operations. The company specializes in radiation protection, industrial hygiene, environmental services, laboratory consulting, analytical services, and training. The company bears the name of the late Dr. Dade W. Moeller, a leading scientist and educator in the fields of health physics and environmental health. Dr. Moeller served as President of the Health Physics Society from 1971–1972.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Paula Tumlinson
Follow us on
Visit website