Texas Society of CPAs Honors Six Professionals with Top Awards

Share Article

Six Texas CPAs Recognized by Statewide Organization

The Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants (TSCPA) recently honored six certified public accountants at the organization’s Annual Meeting of Members in Santa Fe, NM, on June 27-28. The following members were formally recognized by TSCPA for their outstanding achievements during the 2013-14 fiscal year.

  •     Meritorious Service: W. M. Lawhon, CPA - Fort Worth

The meritorious service award is the highest honor given by TSCPA and recognizes a CPA who has made significant contributions to the profession.

  •     Distinguished Public Service: Nathan H. Cross, CPA - Beaumont

This award is given for outstanding charitable, community and civic activities, and other public service not related to TSCPA.

  •     Outstanding Committee Chairman: Carol G. Warley, CPA – Houston

This award recognizes a TSCPA member for his/her outstanding performance as a committee chairman during the current year.

  •     Young CPA of the Year: Ben Simiskey, CPA – Houston

The Young CPA of the Year Award recognizes a CPA under 40 years old for his/her contributions to the accounting profession and the community.

  •     Honorary Fellow: Penny Dear, CPA – Austin, and Donna Hugly, CPA – Dallas

The Honorary Fellow Award is bestowed on a TSCPA member who has distinguished himself/herself within the accounting profession, as well as the community.

TSCPA (http://www.tscpa.org) is a nonprofit, voluntary, professional organization representing Texas CPAs. The society has 20 local chapters statewide and has 27,000 members, one of the largest in-state memberships of any state CPA society in the United States. TSCPA is committed to serving the public interest with programs that advance the highest standards of ethics and practice within the CPA profession.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Avery Elander
Texas Society of CPAs
+1 (972) 687-8688
Email >