National Latino, Asian American and Pacific Islander, Labor and Faith Leaders to Release 2014 National Immigration Score Card

In midst of national immigration crisis, groups begin civic engagement with Score Cards showing how Congress turned its back on communities. News conference on Monday, July 28 – Noon EDT at the United Methodist Bldg, 100 Maryland Ave. NE, Washington, DC, and on Live Stream at http://www.LULAC.org/live with hashtag #CIRScores.

  • Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail a friend

An unprecedented coalition of Latino, Asian American, and Pacific Islander groups ban together for Score Cards that show how Congress turned its back on communities.

Washington, D.C. (PRWEB) July 28, 2014

Frustrated by Congress’ refusal to enact immigration reform as our nation grapples with a national immigration crisis, an unprecedented coalition of national Latino and Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) civic engagement and civil rights groups, labor and faith leaders, will hold a press conference on Monday, July 28, to release the 2014 National Immigration Score Card.

Leaders of 10 groups will discuss how Congress failed to address the moral crisis created by the nation’s broken immigration system. Instead of responsibly addressing immigration as demanded by the public, labor, business, faith and civil rights advocates, the House has voted for the immediate deportation of “DREAMers” and led attacks against children refugees.

The 2014 National Immigration Score Card reviewed all 435 House members on congressional actions, including votes on legislation and amendments on the issue of immigration, cosponsorships of key immigration related bills that include a path to citizenship, and public statements that declare support for immigration reform with a path to citizenship and family reunification through visa reform.

WHO: National Latino, AAPI, Labor and Faith community leaders

WHEN: Monday, July 28 – Noon EDT

WHERE: United Methodist Bldg - 100 Maryland Ave. NE, Washington, DC

For more information, contact:
APALA: William Chiang, wchiang(at)apalanet(dot)org, 202-508-3733
Hispanic Federation: Joshua Silvia, jsilvia(at)hispanicfederation(dot)org, 202-641-7186
Japanese American Citizens League Tara Naoko Ohrtman, tohrtman(at)jacl(dot)org, 202-223-1240
LCLAA: Victor Baten, Vbaten(at)lclaa(dot)org, 202-508-6989
LULAC: Jossie Sapunar, jsapunar(at)lulac(dot)org, 202-491-9388
Mi Familia Vota: Lizette Escobedo lizettee(at)mifamiliavota(dot)org, 858- 583-5014
NAKASEC: Diana Bui dbui(at)nakasec(dot)org, 202-670-1622
NCLR: Joseph Rendeiro, jrendeiro(at)nclr(dot)org, 202-776-1566
OCA - Asian Pacific American Advocates: Ken Lee, klee(at)ocanational(dot)org, (202) 223-5500
Voto Latino: Jimmy Hernandez, jimmy(at)votolatino(dot)org, 305-720-0699

###


Contact

  • Jossie Flor Sapunar
    LULAC
    202-491-9388
    Email
Follow us on: Contact's Facebook Contact's Twitter

Attachments