Sarah Webb of Alaska Wins Hugo Award

Share Article

L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future contest winner from Volume 30 wins the Fan Artist Hugo Award

Sarah Webb (on right), winner of L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future Contest now also winner of the Hugo award as best fan artist.

Sarah Webb, 2013 winner of the L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future contest and published in Volume 30 of the anthology, won the Hugo Award for Best Fan Artist, awarded in London, England on the 17th of August. Sarah was received her Illustrators of the Future award this past April in Los Angeles.

Not able to attend the Hugo Awards event, Sarah was never-the-less delighted and thrilled at the win. "I wish that I could have been there," Sarah stated in a recent interview.

The Hugo Awards cover several categories including: Best Novel, Novelette, Short Story, Graphic Story, Dramatic Presentation long form (movies), Dramatic Presentation Short Form (TV) , Editor, Professional Artist and Fan Artist, in science fiction or fantasy. Works must be published in English or translated into English during the previous calendar year.

Hugo Award nominees and winners are chosen by supporting or attending members of the annual Worldcon, and the presentation evening constitutes its central event.

Hugo nominees this year also included former Writers of the Future contest winners Brad Torgersen (Volume 26) , who was nominated for both the Novella, "The Chaplain's Legacy" and Novelette, "The Exchange Officers" categories and Aliette de Bodard (Volume 23) in the Novelette category for "The Waiting Stars".

For more information on the Writers and Illustrators of the Future contests, go to

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website