Brad Torgersen Collaborates with Writers of the Future Judge Larry Niven

Share Article

"Red Tide" examines teleportation and will release in November of 2014.

Red Tide

It is such an honor to work with Larry Niven. I'll never forget meeting him for the first time at the contest. I was star struck. Now I'm writing with him

Brad Torgersen has had a very successful career since winning the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future contest back in 2010 with his story, "Exanastasis" with thirty plus stories being published in the speculative fiction galaxy. The contest is also where he met one of the judges, award winning and New York Times bestselling author Larry Niven, with whom he has collaborated with to produce "Red Tide."

Loosely based on Larry Niven's 1973 novella "Flash Crowd," "Red Tide" continues to examine the social consequences of the impact of having instantaneous teleportation, where humans can instantly travel long distances in milliseconds.

This is a theme that has fascinated Niven throughout his career and even appears in his seminal work "Ringworld," where the central character celebrates his birthday by instantly teleporting himself to different time zones, extending his birthday. Niven also discusses the impact of such instantaneous transportation in his essay, "Exercise in Speculation: The Theory and Practice of Teleportation."

Torgersen, along with Matthew J. Harrington take on Larry's challenging idea and further develop the theories and concepts that Niven originally presented in "Flash Crowd." The book will release in November of this year.

"It is such an honor to work with Larry Niven," Torgersen said in a recent interview. "I'll never forget meeting him for the first time at the contest. I was star struck. Now I'm writing with him!"

Now in its 31st year, the Writers of the Future Contest began in 1983 and attracts entries worldwide in science fiction and fantasy. Twelve quarterly winners receive prize monies and, along with selected finalists, are published in an annual anthology, L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future (Galaxy Press). The book is sold in bookstores and at and gives the winners the exposure that they need.

Inspired by multiple New York Times best-selling author L. Ron Hubbard, the merit-based Writers of the Future Contest was initiated by him to discover and encourage talented beginning writers of science fiction and fantasy, and thus launch careers.

The idea has proved very successful. Hundreds of winners have had successful writing careers following their win and publication in the anthology, and to date the contest has launched the careers of 12 New York Times bestsellers including: Jo Beverley, Tobias S. Buckell, Nancy Farmer, Eric Flint, Karen Joy Fowler, Tim Myers, Patrick Rothfuss, Lisa Smedmen, Dean Wesley Smith, Elizabeth Wein, Sean Williams, and Dave Wolverton aka David Farland.

Prospective writers should visit for more information on how to enter the contest.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website