2014 Hanley Award and $50,000 Prize go to Bob Berkebile of BNIM

Share Article

Hanley Foundation will present $50,000 and The Hanley Award to Bob Berkebile in New Orleans on October 21 at Greenbuild

The Hanley Award

Bob Berkebile has been a guiding force in sustainability for decades and has earned the respect and admiration of virtually everyone working to advance sustainability in our industry today.

The Hanley Foundation and Hanley Wood announced today that Bob Berkebile, Principal of BNIM, has been selected as the fifth recipient of The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainability, the largest annual award for sustainability in the built environment.

Now celebrating its fifth year, The Hanley Award is sponsored by The Hanley Foundation, EcoBuilding Review, BUILDER and Architect magazines and is dedicated to identifying and honoring individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary, lasting, and far-reaching contributions to sustainability, and who have greatly influenced policy and industry response to critical environmental challenges in the United States.

Previous Hanley Award recipients are architect and environmental advocate Edward Mazria, who founded Architecture 2030, Alex Wilson, who founded and leads BuildingGreen LLC, Sam Rashkin, creator of Energy Star for Homes, the first national residential energy rating system in the country and Dennis Creech, co-founder and executive director of Southface.

“Bob Berkebile has been a guiding force in sustainability for decades and has earned the respect and admiration of virtually everyone working to advance sustainability in our industry today,” said Michael J. Hanley, President of the Hanley Foundation and creator of the award. “We are proud to name Bob as the 2014 recipient, and to recognize his incredible contributions and the crucial role he continues to play in leading us forward toward a sustainable future.”

Berkebile was selected from this year’s slate of nominees that included Christopher Leinberger (LOCUS), Vivian Loftness (Carnegie Mellon University), Jason McLennan (International Living Future Institute), Steven Winter (Steven Winter Associates) and Gail Vittori and Pliny Fisk (The Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems).

The Hanley Award judges this year were Michael J. Hanley, president of The Hanley Foundation and creator of The Hanley Award; Frank Anton, Vice Chairman of Hanley Wood; Dennis Creech, 2013 Hanley Award recipient and co-founder of Southface; Judith Webb, Senior Vice President of Marketing & Strategy for U.S. Green Building Council and Michelle Desiderio, Vice President of Innovation Services at Home Innovations Research Labs.

The Hanley Award will be presented to Bob Berkebile at the annual Hanley Award Dinner during Greenbuild in New Orleans on October 21, 2014.

About The Hanley Foundation
The Hanley Foundation is a non-profit foundation created in 1999 by Michael and Kathryn Hanley that provides support for organizations working in the areas of affordable housing, environmental awareness, and community services. The Washington, DC-based foundation supports local entities helping to provide shelter, like Friendship Place in Washington, D.C. and the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Washington, and environmental organizations like the Chesapeake Bay Foundation. The Hanley Awards were created to recognize and honor significant and lasting contributions to advancing sustainability in the built environment. The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainability, now in its fifth year, was established in 2009.

About Hanley Wood
Hanley Wood is the premier media, event, information and strategic marketing services company serving the residential and commercial construction industries. Through its operating platforms, the company produces award-winning digital and print publications, e-Newsletters, websites, marquee trade shows and events, market intelligence data and strategic marketing solutions. For more information, visit http://www.hanleywood.com.

About BNIM
BNIM is one of the most important architectural firms working to redefine practice in the realm of green architecture today and they are the recipients of the 2011 AIA National Architecture Firm Award. As early pioneers in the arena of sustainable design, BNIM continues to shape the national and global agenda for responsible architecture and design excellence. Established in 1970, the firm has emerged nationally as a leading resource for established methodologies, innovative technologies and cutting-edge research in architecture, planning, landscape, education and workplace design. In addition to Des Moines, Iowa, the firm has offices in Kansas City, Missouri, Houston Texas, San Diego, California and Los Angeles, California. For more information, visit http://www.bnim.com.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Irina Woelfle
Hanley Wood
+1 203-570-6770
Email >
Visit website