The Most Awarded Speculative Short Fiction Author Mike Resnick Attracting Big Names from Larry Niven to George R.R. Martin to 10th Issue of Galaxy's Edge

Share Article

The Issue Includes both Seasoned Vets and New Writers in the Genre from the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, amongst others

Galaxy's Edge Magazine

I believe in paying it forward. I had help in the beginning with my own career, so I am doing the same for the new writers of today.

Mike Resnick, editor of Galaxy's Edge Magazine and L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future contest judge is celebrating his 10th issue this month with celebrated authors Larry Niven, Gregory Benford, Robert J. Sawyer, and Eric Flint also contest judges. Writers of the Future former winners Brian Trent, Laurie Tom and Tobias S. Buckell are among the other authors in this issue.

Four years ago Resnick became a judge in the international L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future contest; Mike has since then routinely sought out contest winners and published them. To date he has published fifteen different contest winners for a total of 25 published stories.

Mike is no stranger to awards himself. According to Locus, speculative fiction's trade magazine, he is the all-time leading award winner, living or dead, for short fiction. He has won 5 Hugos (from a record 36 nominations), a Nebula and other major awards in the US, France, Japan, Spain, Croatia, Poland and Catalonia. He is the author of 75 novels, over 250 short stories, 3 screenplays and the editor of 41 anthologies. His work has been translated into 25 languages.

"I believe in paying it forward", Resnick said in a recent interview. "I had help in the beginning with my own career, so I am doing the same for the new writers of today."

Each year the contest awards all winners with cash prizes, free travel and accommodations, week-long professional workshop, and guaranteed publication in their best-selling annual speculative fiction anthology, L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers and Illustrators of the Future. Grand prize winners for writing and illustration will be announced at the annual awards ceremony to be held in April 2015 in Los Angeles.

Inspired by best-selling author L. Ron Hubbard, the merit-based Writers of the Future Contest was initiated 29 years ago to discover and encourage talented beginning writers of science fiction and fantasy.

For more information about the contest, please visit the website at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website