Horror In Amityville Or Hollywood Hoax? 'The Amityville Horror Murders' Documentary Reveals the Twisted Truth Behind Pop Culture's Most Infamous Haunted House

Share Article

Narrated by Emmy® and Golden Globe Award® Winning Actor Ed Asner The Documentary Premieres on REELZ Saturday, October 25 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT Amidst a Spooktacular Movie Lineup

REELZ today announced that "The Amityville Horror Murders" premieres Saturday, October 25 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT examining the origins of the haunted house that inspired the popular entertainment franchise and bringing to light the sinister reality behind the infamous Amityville murders. Narrated by multiple Emmy® and Golden Globe Award® winner Ed Asner, the two-hour documentary explores the grisly 1974 mass murder that served as a genesis for the Amityville story and reveals its connection to the disturbing claims made by George and Kathy Lutz who moved into the house with their three children one year later. That couple’s alleged experiences would lead to a haunted house tale Hollywood couldn’t resist and "The Amityville Horror Murders" sheds light on the shocking circumstances and web of lies at the base of the billion dollar franchise it inspired. "The Amityville Horror Murders" documentary is produced by Ryan Katzenbach.

"The Amityville Horror Murders" provides extensive background on the 1974 mass murder case when 23-year-old Ronald “Butch” DeFeo Jr. was sentenced to six consecutive life terms for killing his entire family in their home as they slept. The documentary delves into the purported horrific experiences of the Lutz family who moved into the house in 1975. Aspiring to live the American dream, the couple claims they acquired a living hell—describing supernatural forces and vibes so terrifying that they moved out after only 28 days. But were the claims part of an elaborate commercial venture or a desperate attempt at an insanity plea for Butch—or both? Four decades later questions still remain and "The Amityville Horror Murders" uses facts and evidence from the DeFeo family murders as well as interviews and testimonies from the DeFeo family’s friends and jurors and experts involved with the case to find out if the events portrayed in the popular books and movies are horror or hokum.

Additional chances to watch "The Amityville Horror Murders":
Sunday, October 26 at 6pm ET/ 3pm PT
Wednesday, October 29 at 11pm ET/ 8pm PT
Thursday, October 30 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT

See how Hollywood spun the ghastly Amityville events into terrifying box office success when REELZ airs both the 1979 original "The Amityville Horror" and the 2005 remake starring Ryan Reynolds on Sunday, October 19. Also joining the spooktacular October movie lineup is the iconic thriller "The Silence of the Lambs" and its scary sequel "Hannibal" featuring Anthony Hopkins as the brilliant, diabolical cannibal and Jodie Foster as FBI Agent Clarice Starling. Airdates and times are listed below.

"The Amityville Horror" (1979)
Sunday, October 19 at 3pm ET/ 12pm PT
Saturday, October 25 at 4:30pm ET/ 1:30pm PT

"The Amityville Horror" (2005)
Sunday, October 19 at 10:30pm ET/ 7:30pm PT
Saturday, October 25 at 11pm ET/ 8pm PT
Sunday, October 26 at 4pm ET/ 1pm PT
Friday, October 31 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT and again at 11pm ET/ 8pm PT

"The Silence of the Lambs"
Saturday, October 18 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT
Sunday, October 19 at 5:30pm ET/ 2:30pm PT
Sunday, October 26 at 8pm ET/ 5pm PT
Tuesday, October 28 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT

"Hannibal"
Saturday, October 18 at 11:30pm ET/ 8:30pm PT
Sunday, October 19 at 8pm ET/ 5pm PT
Sunday, October 26 at 10:30pm ET/ 7:30pm PT
Monday, October 27 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT

About REELZCHANNEL—Hollywood Happens Here™
REELZ is a leading independent cable and satellite general entertainment network, connecting its viewers across America with the magic, wonder and excitement of Hollywood wherever it happens. The network is home to cutting-edge reality programs, compelling television events, miniseries, movies and series featuring big stories and big stars. Programming ranges from the critically-acclaimed and award-winning "The Kennedys" to "Hollywood Hillbillies", "TMZ Hollywood Sports", "Beverly Hills Pawn", "OK! TV", "Hollywood Scandals" and much more that connects directly to the world of entertainment. REELZ also showcases top movie and entertainment experts Leonard Maltin and Richard Roeper who provide specific on-air recommendations for movies viewers can watch at home.

REELZ reaches 70 million homes on DIRECTV channel 238, Dish Network channel 299, Verizon FiOS TV channel 233, AT&T U-verse channels 799/1799HD and cable systems nationwide. Find REELZ in your area by entering your zip code at http://www.reelz.com/watch. REELZ is a High-Definition network and if a cable or satellite provider doesn’t carry it that way, we encourage viewers to call and ask for REELZ in HD. Owned by Hubbard Media Group, REELZ is headquartered in Albuquerque, NM with national ad sales based out of New York City with offices in Boston and Chicago. As one of the last truly independent television networks remaining in today’s media landscape REELZ has created the Independence Happens Here™ website to help keep free thought and innovation alive by highlighting the importance of independent businesses. The website can be found at http://IndependenceHappensHere.com

For more information, please contact the REELZ Media Line
877- REELZTV (733-5988) / pr(at)reelz(dot)com

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Rachel Bass
ReelzChannel, LLC
+1 (505) 212-8809
Email >