WISPAPALOOZA 2014 Breaks Attendance Record

Share Article

Annual conference and tradeshow surpasses 1,150 attendees and 100 exhibitors/sponsors.

News Image

The Wireless Internet Service Providers Association (WISPA), a membership organization that promotes the development, advancement and unity of the fixed wireless Internet service provider industry, held its annual fall conference and expo, WISPAPALOOZA, last week at the South Point Hotel and Conference Center in Las Vegas. In its fourth year, the conference broke its attendance record with more than 1,150 attendees and 100 exhibitors/sponsors. The conference included more than 50 business, regulatory and technical learning sessions.

Fiber Weekend was held prior to the conference, and educational sessions were provided by a wide variety of fiber equipment manufacturers and consultants that presented a comprehensive overview of fiber installation logistics, maintenance and operation. Other full and multi-day dedicated certification training sessions ran before and after the show.

Every year, WISPA presents individuals with Knights of the Black Tie Awards for industry members who have gone “above and beyond.” The 2014 recipients include Gino Villarini, Aeronet Wireless Broadband; Faisal Imtiaz, Snappy Telecom; Jeff Kohler, JAB Broadband; Doug Hass, Franczek Radelet P.C.; Jonathan Allen, Rini O’Neil PC; Lee Loker, Tower1 and Indiana Data Center; Joe Miller, DSLbyAir; Robert Moldashel, 5Nines Wireless; Matt Hardeman, IPiFony; Daniel White, SAF Tehnika; Matt Hoppes, Indigo Wireless; and Suzanne Urash, CRE8 Group.

In honor of National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, WISPA held a Pink Day contest sponsored by Highspeedlink.net and awarded two exhibitors that had the best pink booth and staff attire. Visp.net and Baltic Networks won the Pink Day best of show award and WISPA made a contribution to the National Breast Cancer Foundation in their honor.

The conference concluded with a banquet honoring the following recipients of WISPA’s 2014 Awards.

  •     Operator of the Year – Shelby Broadband
  •     Visionary Award – Stephen Coran, Lerman Senter, PLLC
  •     Manufacturer of the Year – Ubiquiti Networks
  •     Synergy Award – Packetflux Technologies
  •     Triumph Award – Joe Miller, DSLbyAir
  •     Triumph Award - Elton Wilson, Aloha Broadband
  •     Volunteer of the Year – Brian Webster, Wireless Mapping
  •     Product of the Year - MTOW Series Products, WB Manufacturing
  •     Distributor of the Year – Streakwave
  •     Best/Most Memorable Speaker - Commissioner Ajit Pai
  •     Best Overall Booth Staff – Cambium Networks

WISPA will hold its annual spring conference and expo, WISPAmerica, from February 22-28, 2015 at the St. Louis Union Station, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in St. Louis, MO.

WISPAPALOOZA is an annual conference and tradeshow dedicated to the fixed Wireless Internet Service Provider (WISP) industry. The conference attracts more than 1,100 attendees, 100 exhibitors/sponsors and over 50 business, regulatory and technical learning sessions.

WISPA is a membership-driven trade association that promotes the development, advancement and unity of the fixed Wireless Internet Service Provider (WISP) industry. WISPA has over 800 members that support WISPA’s advocacy, education and other collaborative industry initiatives. For more information, visit http://www.wispa.org.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Rick Harnish
866-317-2851 Ext: 101
Email >

Suzanne Urash
Follow us on
Visit website