Music Superstar Toni Branxton To Be Honored At 24th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards

Share Article

Monday, November 17th 7:00pm at the Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills, Kym Whitley will host the annual award show where Toni Braxton will accept the Spirit Award presented by Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds

Spirit Award honoree Toni Braxton and Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds

Toni Braxton is an amazing talent. Six Grammy Awards, Nine Billboard Music Awards, Seven American Music Awards, Television Actress and Broadway

The Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP branch and its partners Wells Fargo, The City of Los Angeles (Councilman Bernard Parks) and Rent-­A-­Center announced today that music superstar Toni Braxton will receive the prestigious Spirit Award, presented by life time friend, Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds at the 24th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards. The show will take place at the Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills on Monday, November 17, 2014.

Each year the Spirit Award is presented to an individual who brings energy, tenacity, innovation, commitment, talent, and of course, spirit, to the theater scene. Toni’s mesmerizing performance in the Broadway musical “After Midnight” alongside Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, serves as a true testament to her talents.

“Toni Braxton is an amazing talent. Six Grammy Awards, Nine Billboard Music Awards, Seven American Music Awards, Television Actress and Broadway,” said Tia Boyd, Executive Producer of the NAACP Theatre Awards. “ We are thrilled to show our admiration and will highlight her theatrical career in a momentous way.”

Actress Kym Whitley, star of Oprah’s OWN network "Raising Whitley", is set to host this year’s awards show. Regional President of Community Bank, John Sotoodeh will receive the President’s Award and Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo, Byron Reed will be honored with The Community Service Award. The night will also feature special musical performances, and several award presenters such as star of the new erotic thriller “Addicted”, Sharon Leal, cast members from NBA player LeBron James’ new cable series “Survivor’s Remorse”, Tichina Arnold and Teyonah Parris, Lamorne Morris of Fox’s “New Girl”, Shanola Hampton of “Shameless”, Jay Ellis of “The Game” and Cocoa Brown of Tyler Perry’s “The Single Moms Club”. Elise Neal, Keith David, Erica Hubbard, Macy Gray, Chrystee Pharris, Darrin Henson, Tommy Davidson, Stephen Bishop, McKinley Freeman and many more will also present to this year’s equity and local theatre award winners.

Tickets are now available at Ticketmaster For more information about the NAACP Theatre Awards please visit:

About The NAACP Theatre Awards:
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website