American Association for Physician Leadership Accepting Applications for Education Awards

Share Article

Awards to recognize individuals and organizations that exhibit innovation and excellence in advancing physician leadership

The American Association for Physician Leadership is seeking applications for two awards that recognize individuals and organizations demonstrating excellence and innovation in leadership education and management training programs for physicians.

The Roger Schenke Award is a new award being launched this year, the organization’s 40th anniversary. The award honors the vision and commitment to excellence displayed by Roger Schenke, who in 1975 founded the organization that is now the American Association for Physician Leadership. Applicants should be individuals who have exhibited innovation in the creation of education or training programs designed to advance physician leadership and improve health care.

The association is also accepting applications for the Leape Ahead Award, which recognizes organizations that are dedicated to improving the overall quality of health care by developing medical students and residents into future physician leaders. Now in its fourth year, the award honors medical schools, teaching hospitals and academic medical centers that create programs or courses which focus upon the interpersonal, communication, collaborative and teamwork skills of future physician leaders. This award recognizes and honors the contributions of Dr. Lucian Leape – a beacon in health care for patient safety and quality. Past winners include Christiana Care Health System, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital.

Applications for both awards will be reviewed by selection committees that will base their decisions on:

  •     Project's relevance to the award’s mission.
  •     Measurable outcomes of the project to date.

Applications should include:

  •     Project abstract: An executive summary that describes how the project supports the award’s mission.
  •     Project description: Provide a detailed description of the project, including objectives, background, methodology, outcomes and conclusions.
  •     Name, address, phone, and e-mail address of the applicant(s).

Applicants will be notified by February 15, 2015. The winner will be honored at a presentation at the association’s Annual Meeting on April 18, 2015, at the Venetian in Las Vegas, NV.

Applications must be submitted electronically by filling out the registration form available at All applications must be received no later than Thursday, December 18, 2014.

For more information, contact Carrie Johnson at cjohnson(at)physicianleaders(dot)org or 800-562-8088.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carrie Johnson
American Association for Physician Leadership
+1 (813) 636-2807
Email >
Visit website