AITP Chicago & SIM Chicago 2014 CIO’s Most Effective IT Team Awards

Share Article

AITP Chicago and SIM Chicago wish to congratulate the teams of USG Corporation, Tate & Lyle PLC and Association Management Center, winners of the 2014 CIO’s Most Effective IT Team Awards. All nominations, judging, and elections were done by peers in the information technology community. The awards were presented at the Awards Program dinner on November 13th, 2014.

The Chicago chapters of the Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) and the Society for Information Management (SIM) are proud to announce the winners of the 2014 CIO’s Most Effective IT Team Awards. This year's team winners are USG Corporation – Large Company, Tate & Lyle PLC – Mid Company, and Association Management Center – Small Company.

Representing the IT team of USG Corporation are Anson Johnson, IT Director, Operations; Clint Lombardo, IT Director, PMO; Joe Hus, IT Director, Applications; and Scott Lovingfoss, IT Director, Enterprise Architecture and Business Partner led by Creighton Warren, Chief Information Officer.

Representing the IT team of Tate & Lyle PLC are Marsha Warmoth, Manager, Process and Design; Gary Denton, Manager, Quality Assurance and Testing Services; Anbu Lakshmanan, Manager, SAP Delivery; and Brad Huggins, Manager, SAP Sustaining, BW and Basis led by Stephen Byers, Chief Information Officer.

Representing the IT Team of Association Management Center are Don Brown, Manager Application Development; Ron Liss, Infrastructure System Administrator; Kacper Szczurek, Manager Database Services; and Mary Swiderski, Help Desk Supervisor led by Charles Melidosian, Chief Information Officer.

Taking place over a 90-day period and culminating with an Awards Dinner at the Metropolitan Club of Chicago in November, the program consists of a nomination phase, a qualifying and detailed application process, and a peer panel of judges who score each team. The awards are designed to recognize the achievements of the teams as well as the significant role that teams play in the overall success of an organization and contributions to the IT community as a whole. Nominated teams were judged in award classes based on company size with points awarded in the following categories: cost effectiveness, innovation, change leadership, value creation, service quality, and community. The program received local industry support and sponsorship from Comcast Business Class, Delta Computer Group, MVP Advisory Group, Eagle Creek Software Services, Halock Security Labs, Palace Gate Corporation, and fishnet Security.

Guest speaker Naresh Shah is the Senior Director of Operations for the Digital Manufacturing and Design Innovation Institute (DMDII), a collaboration of UI LABS. The DMDII is this nation’s flagship research organization for applying cutting-edge digital technologies to reduce the time and cost of manufacturing and strengthen the capabilities of the U.S. supply chain.

Scot Berkey, President of SIM Chicago and Gary Czubak, President of AITP Chicago were delighted by this year's slate of CIO nominated teams. “This year’s set of nominees were exceptionally strong, and it is heartening to see the great work that is taking place by teams of all sizes throughout the Chicagoland area. While this made the selection of this year’s winners quite challenging, we are proud to recognize this years winners for their truly outstanding accomplishments.” said Berkey. Czubak shared "Every year the number of applicants has grown and the level of accomplishment this year has made it more challenging for our judges to reach a final decision. Every member of every team must take pride in their nomination. The winners of this year’s award share the responsibility to represent the best of a strong IT community. "

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Paul Dittmann
AITP Chicago
+1 312-391-5822
Email >
Visit website