The NEA Foundation Names Five Educators for Prestigious National Award

Share Article

Five educators are announced as recipients of the 2015 Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence.

These educators teach a variety of topics, each playing an instrumental role in developing well-educated children who we’ll entrust with creating a better tomorrow.

The NEA Foundation recently announced the names of five educators who will receive the 2015 Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence, $10,000, and recognition as one of the nation’s top educators at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Awards Gala to be held on February 13, 2015 in Washington, DC. They are:

  • Crystal Williams Gordon, a Biology educator at Broadmoor High School in Baton Rouge, LA;
  • Anna E. Baldwin, a English Language Arts and History educator at Arlee High School in Arlee, MT;
  • Terri A. Butts, a curriculum specialist at the Richland Two Child Development Center in Columbia, SC;
  • Allison P. Riddle, a Fifth Grade educator at Foxboro Elementary in North Salt Lake City, UT; and
  • Richard Erickson, a Chemistry, Physics, and Alternative Education educator at Bayfield High School in Bayfield, WI.

“These educators have been selected for this award by their peers because they have attained the highest teaching standards, as shown by their exemplary instruction, advocacy for the profession, attention to diversity, leadership in professional development, and engagement of parents and community,” said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation. “Honoring them is our way of thanking them and all the public school educators they represent, for their excellent work.”

The NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence are presented annually at the Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Gala, which attracts more than 800 national leaders from the public education, philanthropic, and business sectors. The awards recognize, reward, and promote excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession.

The NEA Foundation will live stream video of the event on its website, enabling students, peers, and families of the awardees to join in the celebration from communities around the country. Tune in on February 13 at 7:30pm ECT.

In addition to this recognition, students and educators at the awardees’ schools have produced videos about the awardees that will be premiered at the awards gala.

“On behalf of our employees and agents, Horace Mann is pleased to honor these five teachers with the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence,” said Marita Zuraitis, President and CEO of Horace Mann. “These educators teach a variety of topics, each playing an instrumental role in developing well-educated children who we’ll entrust with creating a better tomorrow. Horace Mann is proud to showcase the great work done by these educators.”

The NEA Foundation and the National Education Association jointly present these teaching awards with support from NEA Member Benefits, the Horace Mann Companies, the Pearson Foundation, Promethean, and California Casualty.

Find a profile of each awardee and more details about the awards here.


The NEA Foundation is a public charity supported by contributions from educators’ dues, corporate sponsors, and other supporters of public education initiatives. The NEA Foundation partners with education unions, districts, and communities to create powerful, sustainable improvements in teaching and learning.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carrie McCloud
Visit website


education grants