Cozy Mystery Author Melanie Jackson Publishes Her One Hundredth Book

Share Article

After over 14 years of writing and publishing success, cozy mystery author Melanie Jackson has penned and pressed her one hundredth book in the form of a "A Cozy Christmas", a collection of holiday cozy mystery stories starring each of her most popular amateur sleuths.

I can't wait to get started writing the next one hundred books

Past News Releases


Melanie Jackson was born and raised in the beautiful Silicon Valley of San Jose, California. She went to school there where she eventually met and married her husband in the summer of 1980.

Melanie has been writing her entire life. In fact, one of her fondest memories is receiving an IBM Selectric typewriter for her eleventh birthday. However, it wasn't until after she got married and settled down that she began to write full time. Even with serious effort dedicated to writing every day it took her over nineteen years to finally land an agent and a contract with a New York publisher.

Melanie published her first novel, Iona, in November of 1999. Iona and her next three novels where to be Scottish historical romances published by the now defunct New York based publisher Dorchester Publishing. In 2002 she switched to writing paranormal romances for the same company and penned a total of 14 novels for Dorchester Publishing through July of 2010.

In 2010 Melanie received notification from her editor at Dorchester Publishing that the company was experiencing financial difficulties and that her novels would no longer be published. Joining forces with her husband, author Brian Jackson, Melanie began self-publishing her own work and has enjoyed great financial success as a result of the switch.

Along with switching to self-publishing Melanie made a change from writing romances to writing cozy mystery books. Cozy mystery stories typically take place in small towns and involve an amateur sleuth.

Over the past four years Melanie has written cozy mysteries in a number of series. Her most popular series, the Chloe Boston Mystery Series, stars an amateur sleuth stuck in the parking enforcement department of the Hope Falls Police Department because she is unable to lift the minimum weight required to become an officer. Melanie’s cozy mystery series include the Chloe Boston, Butterscotch Jones, Miss Henry, Wendover House, Kenneth Mayhew, and Jane Blackthorn mystery series.

Whether novels, novellas, anthologies, or bundles, Melanie published her one hundredth book in November of 2014. All her books are currently available in ebook format on Amazon with select titles appearing in print and audio recordings. With the demise of Dorchester Publishing, Amazon's Montlake imprint has assumed publication of Melanie's Scottish historical and paranormal romances.

When asked about the future Mrs. Jackson replied, “I can’t wait to get started writing the next one hundred books.”

Additional information on cozy mystery author Melanie Jackson and her writing can be found on her website located at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Brian Jackson
since: 10/2011
Follow >
Author Melanie Jackson
since: 03/2013
Like >
Follow us on
Visit website