Merle Amodeo Reveals Poems on Heartaches in New Anthology

Share Article

'After Love' explores passion, human emotions involved in relationships

News Image
Offers an enduring reminder of love’s beauty and sorrow and the countless sacrifices mankind has made for its sake

Literature has immortalized love since the dawn of civilization, producing the most heartrending stories ever known to mankind. Still, it never gets out of date and continues to allure those smitten by its splendor. The same passion for the enigma of love motivates author Merle Amodeo to pen a poignant collection of poetry capturing the depth of emotions that prevail in human relationships.

"After Love" (published by Xlibris) is an anthology of poetic verse written in a span of eight years. The poet passionately examines the complex relationships between two people, which encompass the human emotions of love, anger, jealousy, and forgiveness. Her writing offers a genuine gift in the playful treatment of love and passion, phrased in poems that are sure to resonate with anyone who has ever been in love. Love is, as these poems acknowledge, easy for people to get into but heartbreaking to leave.

Excerpt from 'Glorious:'

Even now,
pushing seventy,
she looks at the world
through the eyes of a squirrel.
Every man she meets
is a nut
she wants to hide away
for the long, lonely winter.

Passionate and enchanting in its entirety, “After Love” offers an enduring reminder of love’s beauty and sorrow and the countless sacrifices mankind has made for its sake.

“After Love”
By Merle Amodeo
Hardcover | 6x9in | 76 pages | ISBN 9781499081930
Softcover | 6x9in | 76 pages | ISBN 9781499081954
E-Book | 76 pages | ISBN 9781499081947
Available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

About the Author
Merle Amodeo was born in Toronto and now lives in the beaches area of the city. She remembers writing creatively as soon as she could form letters into words. She taught at elementary schools in Toronto and Oakville and at Durham College in Oshawa for more than 30 years. Since her retirement in 2004, she has published two chapbooks of poetry, "Let Me In" and "Because of You" and a novel, "Call Waiting," with Hidden Brook Press. In 2011, ten of her poems were published in Spanish and English in "Taste of the Rainbow" by Sand Crab Books.

Xlibris Publishing, an Author Solutions, LLC imprint, is a self-publishing services provider created in 1997 by authors, for authors. By focusing on the needs of creative writers and artists and adopting the latest print-on-demand publishing technology and strategies, we provide expert publishing services with direct and personal access to quality publication in hardcover, trade paperback, custom leather-bound and full-color formats. To date, Xlibris has helped to publish more than 60,000 titles. For more information, visit or call 1-888-795-4274 to receive a free publishing guide. Follow us @XlibrisPub on Twitter for the latest news.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marketing Services
+1 888-795-4274 Ext: 7879
Email >
Visit website