ESA Honors Those Who Enrich the Security Industry

Share Article

Industry Leaders Recognized at the 2014 ESA Leadership Summit

Today, the Electronic Security Association (ESA) honored outstanding individuals and chapters for their dedication to the electronic security industry during the seventh annual ESA Leadership Summit in Orlando, Fla.

The Summit is where the electronic security industry’s leaders convene to share business intelligence, meet with association leaders, network with colleagues and chart the industry’s future.

The Leadership Awards were held during the first luncheon general session of the week featuring Mary Byers, CAE and co-author of “Race for Relevance: Five Radical Changes for Associations.” The awards, which were sponsored by Security America Risk Retention Group, acknowledged Chartered Chapters and their members who have made significant contributions to the industry in the past 12 months.

The Louisiana Life Safety and Security Association (LLSSA) was selected as the Chapter of the Year. The award recognized LLSSA for expanding its membership in 2013 while also maintaining a high member retention rate, working closely with the Louisiana State Fire Marshal to promote ESA’s National Training School (NTS), and providing support and education to its members on state regulations.

Joe Parisi, president of the New Jersey Electronic Security Association (NJESA), was presented the Chapter President of the Year award. Parisi shows dedication to the industry through his extensive work on behalf of NJESA and ESA. Parisi spearheaded the chapter’s recent name change from New Jersey Burglar and Fire Alarm Association (NJBFAA) to NJESA to further align itself with ESA.

Jerry Lenander of the California Alarm Association (CAA) was awarded Executive Director of the Year thanks to his clear vision and plan of action for his chapter. Through his professional experience and knowledge, Lenander has implemented a variety of initiatives to further enhance his chapter.

Dan Cantrell, director of training and technical development for ADT, received the ESA/NTS Instructor of the Year, which is awarded in honor of Paul F. Baran. Cantrell is a senior NTS instructor who has had a major influence on the direction of NTS by assisting in the creation, instruction and evaluation of courses.

Other honors given during the event included the Chapter Newsletter of the Year, presented to LLSSA for its publication LA. News; and the Chapter Website of the Year, presented to CAA for its website

For more information about the 2014 ESA Leadership Summit, please visit


Established in 1948, the Electronic Security Association (ESA) is the largest trade association representing the electronic life safety and security industry. Member companies install, integrate and monitor intrusion and fire detection, video surveillance and electronic access control systems for commercial, residential, industrial and governmental clients. In cooperation with an alliance of chapter associations, ESA provides technical and management training, government advocacy and delivers information, advice, tools, and services that members use to grow their businesses and prosper. ESA may be reached at (888) 447-1689 or on the Web at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Laurie Knox

Jeaneen Bengtson
Visit website