Global Water Awards Shortlist Announced

Share Article

Global Water Intelligence (GWI) has announced the list of companies and projects which have been shortlisted for the 2015 Global Water Awards, and voting will open March 1st to GWI subscribers, Water Desalination Report (WDR) subscribers and International Desalination Association (IDA) members.

Each year, the Global Water Awards are presented at the Global Water Summit, the major business conference for the water industry worldwide. They are the most coveted awards in the industry, and recognise the achievements of people and projects in the international water industry within several categories.

Shortlisted entries are as follows:

  • Water Company of the Year

Abengoa; Aqualogy; Metito; United Envirotech

  • Desalination Company of the Year

Degrémont; Desalcott; Desalitech; Saline Water Conversion Corporation

  • Water Project of the Year

Andijk III pretreatment plant, Netherlands; Lakeview WTP phase 2 expansion, Canada; Leo J. Vander Lans WTF expansion, USA; Wichita Equus Beds ASR project, USA

  • Wastewater Project of the Year

Agua Prieta WWTP, Mexico; Fes WWTP, Morocco; Muharraq WWTP, Bahrain; Ovilléo WWTP, Marquette-lez-Lille, France

  • Desalination Plant of the Year

Cambria BWRO, California; Copiapó SWRO, Chile; Mactaa, Algeria; Ras Al-Khair SWRO, Saudi Arabia

  • Water Reuse Project of the Year

Blue Plains Thermal Hydrolysis Facility, USA; Kooragang Industrial Water Scheme, Australia; Silicon Valley AWTP, USA; Victor Valley biogas project, USA

  • Industrial Water Project of the Year

Jurong Industrial Water Reuse Pilot, Singapore; Ordos ZLD facility, China; Ujams Industrial Water Reclamation Plant, Namibia; VSB Jeceaba utilities complex, Brazil    

  • Water Deal of the Year

Benin water PPPs, DC Water green bond; Liberty Water/CAGRD Recycled Water Recharge Scheme; Mirfa IWPP financing

  • Water Technology Company of the Year

Fathom; Heilongjiang Interchina Water; MetaWater; SKion GmbH

  • Water Performance Initiative of the Year

Adelaide Metropolitan Water Distribution Network, Australia; Denver Water Sustainability, USA; Ejby Mølle WWTP Energy Optimisation, Denmark; Gulhi energy-positive desalination, Maldives

José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission (2004-2014) and Prime Minister of Portugal (2002-2004) will present the awards on the evening of the 27 April 2015 at the Nasioutzik Museum, Athens, Greece.

Voting will close on 6th April at midday GMT. No votes will be valid outside of these dates. For each vote cast the Global Water Summit donates $1 to create a cash prize for the Water Leaders Awards. Winners will be selected from four utilities serving low-income communities in the developing world, recognising the people who are really making a difference at the frontline of battle for safe water and good sanitation.

Full details of the shortlisted entries are available in the February issue of GWI magazine and at The shortlisted entries for the Corporate Water Stewardship Award and the Water Leaders Award will be made available at a later date.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Emma Wheal
Visit website