Newly Released Final Book in Ex-L.A. Cop's Detective Trilogy Wraps Up Intriguing Mystery

Share Article

Policeman turned author Norman E. Edelen's crime series takes readers deep behind the scenes of criminal investigations and into the lives of those working the cases.

News Image
“These books are not only a fascinating read but offer a continuing story about criminal drama." - Robert Fletcher, CEO of Strategic Book Publishing and Rights Agency

Reflection, revelations, intrigue, and enduring love make all three books a winning combination.

The first book in the series, "After a While You Wonder", is set in 1997 as five former L.A. police officers reunite for lunch. They reminisce about the 77th Street Division, and talk about racism, riots, and their lives on LAPD’s strong blue line of silence during the 1960s. Two months before the 1965 Watts Riot, one of the men corroborated the testimony of a white officer who accused the LAPD of being racist. With the conviction of O.J. Simpson a few days before in the civil suit for the wrongful death of his ex-wife, Nicole, and Ronald Goldman, they realize racial volatility may still be prevalent, even following three decades of social upheaval and change in America.

And in this first installment, we meet “Nate.”

The second book in the series, "Tuesday After Next" features a growing romance. Two federal agents meet for the first time when they start an investigation at an exclusive boutique hotel in St. Thomas. U.S. Treasury Agent Kevin Moore and Karen Doupchek, a DEA agent from L.A., are working a Joint Task Force to check out possible drug laundering at the hotel. The hotel is managed by the widow of ex-L.A. cop Carl Quincy “Q” Sanes, who is said to have died four years ago. Q was cremated and his ashes thrown into the sea, but the agents can’t locate an autopsy report or a death certificate. The agents wonder if Q is alive and calling the shots or if other forces are in play.

Now searching for Q dead or alive, the money trail or both, the agents separate and go to Puerto Rico, California, Indiana, and Washington, D.C. and everywhere Q may have cash being laundered. During their investigation, the agents fall hard for each other.

And in this book, we love to hate “Nate.”

"It Don’t Matter: Amor Regge Senza Legge (Love Rules Without Rules or Laws)", the third novel in the trilogy, continues the love story. Set in 2001, it opens opens with a desperate search for the stunning, married DEA Agent Karen Doupchek, reportedly killed at the World Trade Center on 9/11. Karen’s Joint Task Force partner and rumored paramour, Kevin A. Moore, a handsome unmarried U.S. Treasury agent, refuses to believe she is dead. He recounts Karen, as an apparition, saying to him on 9/11, “Wait for me, Kevin. I’m coming back to you.” Obsessed with finding out what happened to Karen, but unable to get help from the inside, Kevin turns to the outside for help: to the JTF’s drug laundering target of interest, the allegedly dead ex-L.A. cop, Carl Quincy “Q” Sanes.

And in this book, we hate to love “Nate.”

Watch the video at:

AFTER A WHILE YOU WONDER (ISBN: 978-1-63135-350-5), (Hardcover ISBN: 978-1-60693-997-0),
TUESDAY AFTER NEXT (ISBN: 978-1-63135-349-9), (Hardcover ISBN: 978-1-61897-924-7)
IT DON’T MATTER: AMOR REGGE SENZA LEGGE (LOVE RULES WITHOUT RULES OR LAWS), (ISBN: 978-1-63135-351-2), (Hardcover ISBN: 978-1-63135-301-7) can all be ordered through the publisher’s website: or at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and other online book vendors.

“These books are not only a fascinating read but offer a continuing story about criminal drama. We are thrilled to announce their release,” said Robert Fletcher, CEO of Strategic Book Publishing and Rights Agency.

WHOLESALERS: The books are distributed by Ingram Books and other wholesale distributors. Contact your representative with the ISBN for purchase. Wholesale purchase for retailers, universities, libraries, and other organizations is also available through the publisher; please email

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Ellen Green
Visit website