Carolina Farm Credit to Issue Patronage Checks

Share Article

The Carolina Farm Credit Board will distribute a patronage check for the 27th straight year to its member-borrowers.

In April, member-borrowers of Carolina Farm Credit will receive patronage refunds checks for 2014, Vance C. Dalton, Jr., CEO, announced today.

The amount of patronage to be paid and revolved in the future for borrowers of Carolina Farm Credit will total $18.4 million. Borrowers will receive a refund of 25% of the interest that accrued on their loans in 2014. A cash refund of $5.5 million will be paid, and the remainder will be placed in allocated capital accounts for future revolvement.

"Carolina Farm Credit had another successful year in 2014. We're pleased to be able to share our success with our borrowers by putting our profits in their pockets," said Mark Bray Chairman of the Carolina Farm Credit board. "This is the 27th consecutive year we've paid a patronage refund. In addition, the board of directors plans to continue to retire allocated surplus according to their plan in the fall of 2015. Since 1988, Carolina Farm Credit has declared patronage totaling more than $422 million to be paid to its member-borrowers through patronage refunds and retirements of allocated surplus."

"When we distribute our profits to our borrowers, it reduces their effective cost of borrowing," Vance C. Dalton, Jr. stated, "and it proves that there are distinct financial benefits in doing business on a cooperative basis."

Carolina Farm Credit is a farmer-owned cooperative providing short, intermediate, and long-term financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and also provides financing for the construction and purchase of rural homes in 54 counties through 36 branches. Other financial services available through Carolina Farm Credit are credit life and crop insurance, appraisal services, financial planning, and leasing programs.

Carolina serves over 9,061 members with loans outstanding totaling over $1.4 billion with branches located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Boone, Brown Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Concord, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Marshall, Mocksville, Monroe, Murphy, Newton, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wadesboro, Waynesville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are Mark A. Bray, Chairman, Lawsonville; L. Kim Starnes, Vice-Chairman, Salisbury; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; David M. Coltrane, Pleasant Garden; Susie J. Gambill, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord; Tony L. Ragan, Sanford; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; Lewis E. Smith, Lincolnton; Vickie N. Smitherman, East Bend; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Maggie Hamm- Senior VP
Carolina Farm Credit
+1 (704) 761- 2899
Email >