GWI Announces Winners of the 2015 Global Water Awards

Share Article

Global Water Intelligence (GWI) today announced the winners of the 2015 Global Water Awards, which were presented on Monday 27 April at the Nasioutzik Museum in Greece during the Global Water Summit. The winners were announced in a ceremony presented by José Manuel Barroso.

News Image

Mr Barraso, former President of the European Commission and Prime Minister of Portugal (2002-2004), delivered an informative speech on the global importance of water to our world and commented on how “We need leadership in the private and public sector to make water sustainable.” He was also joined on stage by Thierry Noel the Chief Executive Officer and founder of Amane Advisors.

The winners of the 2015 Global Water Awards are:

Water Company of the Year
Winner: Abengoa
Distinction: Aqualogy- Suez environment

Desalination Company of the Year
Winner: Saline Water Conversion Corporation
Distinction: Suez Environment

Water Project of the Year
Winner: Lakeview WTP phase 2 expansion, Canada
Distinction: Andijk III pretreatment plant, Netherlands

Wastewater Project of the Year
Winner: Agua Prieta WWTP, Mexico
Distinction: Fes WWTP, Morocco

Desalination Plant of the Year
Winner: Ras Al- Khair SWRO, Saudi Arabia
Distinction: Cambria BWRO, California

Water Reuse Project of the Year
Winner: Silicon Valley AWTP, USA
Distinction: Kooragang Industrial Water Scheme, Australia

Industrial Water Project of the Year
Winner: Jurong Industrial Water Reuse Pilot, Singapore
Distinction: Ujams Industrial Water Reclamation Plant, Namibia

Water Deal of the Year
Winner: Mirfa IWPP financing
Distinction: DC Water green bond

Water Technology Company of the Year
Winner: MetaWater
Distinction: SKion GmbH

Water Performance Initiative of the Year
Winner: Adelaide Metropolitan Water Distribution Network, Australia
Distinction: Denver Water Sustainability, USA

Water Leaders Award
Winner: Chennai Metropolitan Water Supply and Sewerage Board
Distinction: Azersu

The Global Water Awards are voted by subscribed readers of GWI magazine, Water Desalination Report and individual members of the International Desalination Association (IDA). In addition, delegates who registered for the Early Bird Discount were also eligible to vote.

Global Water Awards sponsors include: PWN Technologies, Metawater, Meiden, Desalcott, Suez Environnement, Fathom, SWCC, Veolia Water, Doosan, GE Power & Water, Acciona Agua, Pentair
Event sponsor: Amane Advisors

More information on the Global Water Awards can be found at:

Follow developments on Twitter @watermeetsmoney #GWS2015 and Facebook


Notes to Editors
About Global Water Awards    
Each year, the coveted Global Water Awards are presented at the Global Water Summit, the major business conference for the water industry worldwide. The Awards acknowledge the most important achievements in the international water industry within several categories. Attended by top executives from every sector of the water industry, this prestigious gala dinner and awards ceremony is dedicated to recognising excellence in the industry.

About GWI
Global Water Intelligence (GWI) researches and publishes business data and information about the water markets worldwide. Based in Oxford, UK it also has offices in Singapore and USA (Austin, Texas) and has researchers and office staff in many other countries. It publishes three subscription titles and a free weekly GWI Briefing email ( and around four individual reports per year on particular water sectors/geographic regions. It also organises two major financial conferences for the water industry each year: the American Water Summit in Autumn (October 2015) and the Global Water Summit in Spring (April 2015). GWI was awarded the Queen’s Award for Enterprise in 2011.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Emma Wheal