Lexington Institute Adds One More Strong Leader to the Lexington Education Leadership Award Fellowship

Share Article

The Lexington Institute is excited to add an additional Superintendent to its highly selective program designed to help district leaders develop and articulate their personalized learning vision and roadmap.

This recognition is a reflection of the vision and efforts by everyone in Juab School District that is working hard to create a first class personalized learning environment for every student.

The Lexington Institute, a non-profit public policy think tank focused on education reform, is excited to announce that that Rick Robins, of Juab School District (UT) has joined the first cohort of the Lexington Education Leadership Award (LELA) Fellowship. Robins joins 9 other district leaders in an exciting and highly selective 6-month program designed to expose district superintendents to personalized learning and facilitate the first steps to implementation.

The 10 LELA fellows were selected from over 50 applicants from across the country. Selected leaders include: Theron Schutte from Bettendorf Community School District, Dr. Victor P. Hayek from Bridgewater-Raritan Regional, Rich Merlo from Corcoran Unified School District, Dr. Ross Kasun from Freehold Township, Christine Lay from Gettysburg Area, Nancy Allen-Mastro from Independent School District 197, Rick Robins from Juab School District, Gabe Soumakian from Oxnard Union High School District, John F. Albrecht from Wayne-Westland Community Schools, and Blane McCann from Westside Community Schools.

Chosen for the strength of their vision, the existence of key conditions for success and their passion to implement personalized learning, the Lexington Institute is excited about the large scale impact. Through this fellowship over 100,000 students and 10,000 teachers and leaders will experience learning intended to meet their needs.

“We are excited that Dr. Robins is able to join this great group of leaders,” said Don Soifer, Executive Director of the Lexington Institute. “It is wonderful to have the opportunity to support him and the other fellows as they pioneer new ways to support teachers and students.”

The LELA fellowship is an immersive experience to support each district’s vision for personalized learning as well as resources to create a strategic framework for implementation. It kicks off with a specialized track at the Education Elements’ National PL Summit with school visits, access to district leaders in the field discussing their work, as well as key personalized learning thought leaders sharing perspectives. (May 7-8, 2015 San Jose, CA). Leaders will also receive technical assistance and strategic resources and support to develop a custom PL Framework and access to the online LELA Community of Practice forum. The fellowship culminates with a celebration dinner and awards ceremony in Washington DC for LELA Fellows with nationally recognized Personalized Learning Speakers.

LELA fellows will be paired up with experienced personalized learning mentors giving their time to support new superintendents to strategize and implement a successful roll-out. We are honored to have experienced and thoughtful mentors such as Cindy Ambrose, James Bailey and Ken Eastwood. Cindy Ambrose, CAO of Horry County Schools in South Carolina currently oversees a transition to personalization ultimately impacting 40,000 students. Dr. James Bailey, superintendent of Uinta County Schools in Wyoming as well Wyoming Association of State Administration president, is moving his whole district to personalized learning. Finally, Ken Eastwood, at Race to the Top district Middletown, New York, is leading an opt-in personalized learning strategy in which most of his elementary teachers have opted in to this innovative style of teaching.

“It is a great honor to be selected for the Lexington Education Leadership Award Fellowship. I am very grateful to the Lexington Institute and Education Elements for this fantastic opportunity,” Dr. Robins said. “This recognition is a reflection of the vision and efforts by everyone in Juab School District that is working hard to create a first class personalized learning environment for every student. I am excited to engage new relationships with so many amazing people from all over the country.”

Applications for the next class of LELA fellows will open in September 2015 for a November 2015 launch. Please email lela(at)lexingtoninstitute(dot)org to be added to a notification list.

About Lexington Institute: The Lexington Institute is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy think headquartered in Arlington, Virginia. Founded in 1998, its major areas of focus include education, national security, energy and logistics. Please visit lexingtoninstitute.org/category/education/ to learn more.

About Education Elements: Education Elements is a nationally recognized company that helps districts develop and implement personalized learning strategies. Ed Elements' services help districts to create strategies, design instructional models and support teachers in integrating technology and instruction. Our platform provides students, teachers, and administrators each with a single entry point to access digital content and the detailed performance data they need to guide instruction and learning. This innovative cloud service offers simple and accessible data visualizations with actionable insights for users of all types. Education Elements has worked with over 100 schools across 40+ districts in the US; more than any other company. Please visit http://www.edelements.com to learn more.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Don Soifer

Amy Jenkins
Visit website