IPC Healthcare Announces Clinicians of the Year

Share Article

IPC Healthcare, Inc. (Nasdaq: IPCM), a leading national acute hospitalist and post-acute provider organization, will announce this week at its semi-annual leadership conference the recipients of its “Clinicians of the Year” for 2014. The seven award recipients, in alphabetical order, are: Vorbes Aleger, M.D.; Kunal Bhagat, M.D., FACP; Bishal Sinha, M.D.; Tonya Speer, Family Nurse Practitioner; Dan Sussman, M.D.; Peter Weitzman, M.D., FACP; and Frankie Wendell Erdman, M.D.

Now in its seventh year, the IPC Healthcare awards program recognizes IPC clinical leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the company, to their facilities and to the patients they serve, both in acute and post-acute care settings. The five award categories are: Acute Hospitalist of the Year, Post-Acute Provider of the Year, Advanced Practice Clinician of the Year, Newcomer Provider of the Year and Specialist Provider of the Year. Recipients are selected by IPC’s senior management team.

2014 Acute Care Hospitalist of the Year—This year, three physicians share this honor:

  • Frankie Wendell Erdman, M.D., is an IPC Practice Group Leader at Mobile Medical Center in Mobile, Alabama. A graduate of the IPC-UCSF Fellowship Program for Healthcare Leaders, Dr. Erdman constantly strives to improve patient outcomes, while preserving his group’s work-life balance.
  • Kunal Bhagat, M.D., FACP, is an IPC Practice Group Leader for Christiana Hospital located in Newark, Delaware, where he serves on five hospital committees and is a Lean Six Sigma Team Leader. He was recently awarded “Excellence in Hospital Medicine” from the Delaware Chapter of the American College of Physicians.
  • Peter Weitzman, M.D., FACP, is an IPC Practice Group Leader at Providence Holy Family Hospital, in Spokane, Washington. There, he holds three Medical Directorships and is a member of four committees. Dr. Weitzman is also a graduate of the IPC-UCSF Fellowship Program for Healthcare Leaders.

2014 Post-Acute Care Provider of the Year
Vorbes Aleger, M.D., is an IPC Practice Group Leader for the IPC post-acute group in Jacksonville, Florida, and serves as the Medical Director at the Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation Center also in Jacksonville. He holds several Medical Directorships and sits on various boards and committees in many of his facilities. Dr. Aleger is also a graduate of the IPC-UCSF Fellowship Program for Healthcare Leaders.

2014 Advanced Practice Clinician of the Year
Tonya Speer, FNP, is an IPC Nurse Practitioner who serves post-acute facilities in Houston, Texas. In addition to her responsibilities as an NP, Ms. Speer serves as a regional trainer for IPC providers who are new to post-acute care. By following “best practices,” she has helped establish her team’s reputation for offering superior care.

2014 Newcomer Provider of the Year
Bishal Sinha, M.D., is an IPC physician practicing at Methodist Specialty and Transplant Hospital in San Antonio, Texas, where he is a member of the ED Throughput Committee. He also provides post-acute care at Heartland Health Care Center, where he is a member of two facility committees. Dr. Sinha is currently enrolled in the IPC-UCSF Fellowship Program for Healthcare Leaders.

2014 Specialist Provider of the Year
Dan Sussman, M.D., is IPC’s Practice Group Leader at St. John’s Episcopal Hospital in Far Rockaway, New York, where he formally served as the Interim Chairman for the Department of Psychiatry. Additionally, he serves as the Director of Geriatric Psychiatry at St. Luke’s Mount Sinai Hospital. Dr. Sussman is a well-respected and trusted leader by members of his practice group, other providers in the region, as well as non-IPC members of the medical staff where he practices. He continues to serve as a consultant in several long-term care facilities in the New York area.

The Clinicians of the Year award includes an honorarium to each of the seven award recipients. Additionally, IPC makes a $2,500 donation to each recipient’s charity of choice. The donation is made on behalf of IPC Healthcare, as well as the facility in which each of the recipients serves.

“Every year it is a challenge to select IPC’s ‘Clinicians of the Year’ from an outstanding group of leaders. We are proud of all the candidates nominated and all that they do to represent IPC Healthcare in the locations in which they serve,” said Adam Singer, chairman and CEO of IPC Healthcare. “This year, we are very pleased to recognize Drs. Erdman, Bhagat, Weitzman, Aleger, Sinha, and Sussman, as well as Tonya Speer as IPC’s 2014 clinicians of the year. IPC Healthcare’s reputation for clinical excellence is built upon the model of leadership and standards of excellence embodied by these seven outstanding individuals. We are fortunate and appreciative that they are part of our team.”

About IPC Healthcare, Inc.
IPC Healthcare, Inc. (Nasdaq: IPCM) is a leading national acute hospitalist and post-acute provider group practice company. IPC Healthcare’s affiliated physicians and other clinical providers practice in over 400 hospitals and 1,500 post-acute care facilities. The Company offers it’s more than 1,800 employed clinicians comprehensive training, information technology, and management support systems to improve the quality and reduce the cost of patient care in the facilities it serves. For more information, visit the IPC Healthcare website at http://www.ipchealthcare.com

Media Contact:    
Scott Public Relations    
Elaine Murphy     

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jeffrey Winter
IPC Healthcare
+1 314-761-5764
Email >