Academy of Model Aeronautics Awards $46,500 in Scholarships to College-Bound Model Aviation Pilots

Share Article

The Academy of Model Aeronautics has awarded $46,500 in scholarship funds to thirteen high school graduates from across the nation.

News Image

The Academy of Model Aeronautics has awarded $46,500 in scholarship funds to thirteen high school graduates from across the nation.

The Academy of Model Aeronautics Scholarship Fund was created to award qualified AMA Youth Members with scholarships to pursue technical careers. Since its inception in 1970, the AMA Scholarship Program has awarded nearly $900,000 to college-bound aero-modelers. The scholarships are granted from funds donated by model aviation organizations and individuals, AMA member donations, a portion of AMA member dues and direct donations from the Academy of Model Aeronautics.

The Charles H. Grant Scholarship Program contains other grants that look at additional factors to determine the award. The Toledo Weak Signals award begun in 1988, and is awarded to the top three recipients of the AMA/Charles H. Grant Scholarship.

The Telford Scholarship is given out each year and is based on participation in competition activity in AMA and FAI events. Added in 2013, the Basil and Dorothy Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a current college student pursuing an engineering or technical degree while enrolled at an accredited four-year institution. New this year, the AMA awarded $1,000 from the Ryan Sherrow Scholarship. This scholarship, started in memory of an AMA Youth member will continue to be awarded annually.

The AMA would like to congratulate the following 2015 Scholarship winners:

  •     Parker Tyson: $6,000 & $1,000 from Weak Signals = $7,000
  •     Mathew Becker: $5,500 & $500 from Weak Signal = $6,000
  •     Daniel Kelton: $5,000 & $500 from Weak Signals = $5,500
  •     Robert Marier: $4,500
  •     Jake Boring: $4,000
  •     Tristan Sherman: $3,500
  •     Jason Bauer: $3,000
  •     Alexander Schodt: $2,500
  •     Taron Malkhasyan $2,000 & the Telford Award ($5,000) = $7,000
  •     Nicholas Rehm: $2,000
  •     The Ryan Sherrow awards will go to Garrett Duval and Zachary Miller, at $500 each.
  •     Joshua Gaus is the recipient of the Dorothy and Basil Cooper Memorial Scholarship of $500.


About AMA
The Academy of Model Aeronautics, founded in 1936, continues to be devoted to national airspace safety. It serves as the nation’s collective voice for approximately 175,000 modelers in 2,400 clubs in the United States and Puerto Rico. Headquartered in Muncie, Indiana, AMA is a membership organization representing those who fly model aircraft for recreation and educational purposes.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mandee Mikulski

Mandee Mikulski
Academy of Model Aeronautics
Like >
Visit website