Montefalco Consortium Reelects Amilcare Pambuffetti as President, Approves New Regulations

Share Article

The new board brings with it important new regulations regarding the bottling and varietals in Montefalco Rosso DOC, and announces the new denomination Montefalco Grechetto DOC

On June 22nd, members of the Montefalco Consortium (Consorzio Tutela Vini Montefalco) selected the new Board of Directors, and there are no changes at the helm: Amilcare Pambuffetti was reelected as President of the Consortium (the new Vice President will be announced in the coming weeks). The new board has unanimously decided upon important changes in bottling regulations, as well as new rules regarding the varietals that go into Montefalco Rosso DOC, and the inauguration of a new DOC.

As with the winemaking and ageing processes, the bottling of Montefalco Rosso DOC is now required to take place in the area of Montefalco and in part in the municipalities of Bevagna, Gualdo Cattaneo, Castel Ritaldi, and Giano dell’Umbria, all in the province of Perugia.

The composition of Montefalco Rosso DOC will also change: in order to strengthen the structure and intensity of the wines, only Sangiovese (60-80%) and Sagrantino (10-25%) are now permitted, replacing the former composition of three varietals (60-70% Sangiovese, 10-15% Sagrantino, and 15-30% other authorized varietals).

Additionally, a new denomination, Montefalco Grechetto DOC, has been created, made with the most prevalent indigenous white varietal in Umbria, Grechetto. Montefalco Grechetto DOC will be comprised of at least 85% Grechetto and up to 15% of other non-aromatic white varietals grown in Umbria.

The consortium enacted these changes in order to give an even greater territorial connotation to the wines of Montefalco, as President Pambuffetti explains: “The uniqueness of the Montefalco denominations is linked entirely to our land, and they have an indigenous value that must be defended so as to protect their quality and reputation, guarantee authenticity, and ensure the effectiveness of quality controls.”

The ten members of the new board, who will hold their positions until 2017, are: Filippo Antonelli (Antontelli San Marco), Paolo Bartoloni (Cantina Le Cimate), Marco Caprai (Arnaldo Caprai) Corrado Dal Piaz (Badia di Morrona), Giampaolo Farchioni (Terre de la Custodia), Peter Robert Heilbron (Tenuta Bellafonte), Alessandro Meniconi (Perticaia), Lamberto Spacchetti (Colle Ciocco), Giampaolo Tabarrini (Tabarrini), and Vincenzo Tassinari (Còlpetrone).

About the Montefalco Consortium (Consorzio Tutela Vini Montefalco)

In 1981, wine producers in Montefalco joined together to create the Montefalco Consortium. This organization is responsible for coordinating with local producers and guiding them in both ongoing quality research and the promotion of the signature wines of their territory. The Consortium guarantees high standards of production, and promotes both Montefalco Sagrantino and Montefalco Rosso around the world. The Consortium’s main responsibilities are:

  • Protection of the viticulture in the production zone and of the Montefalco denomination wines;
  • Promotion of the Montefalco denomination wines;
  • Oversight to prevent abuse, fraud or irregular use of the denominations.

For more information, please visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Claire Hennessy

Alessandro Boga
Follow >