Christians for Biblical Equality Announces 2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Share Article

Christians for Biblical Equality recognizes leadership in advocacy for women with its 2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Christians for Biblical Equality (CBE) presented ten Lifetime Achievement Awards at its July 24-26 conference, “Becoming New,” in Los Angeles, CA.

At each CBE conference, CBE presents three sets of awards: the Lifetime Achievement Awards, the Priscilla and Aquila Awards, and the Micah Awards. The Lifetime Achievement Awards were established in 2005 to recognize those who exhibit a lifetime of courage, sacrifice, and vision in advancing the biblical basis for gift-based ministry. This year, CBE will honor nine individuals and one denomination with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The 2015 award recipients are Drs. Jack and Judy Balswick, Dr. Pamela Durso, the Evangelical Covenant Church, Dr. Kurt Fredrickson, Rev. Dr. Roberta Hestenes, Dr. Richard Mouw, Dr. John Thompson, Dr. Marianne Meye Thompson, and Dr. James Smith.

“We were thrilled to present awards to such an outstanding group this year,” said Dr. Mimi Haddad, president of CBE. “This year’s recipients in particular testify to CBE’s strong ties with leading Christian organizations, particularly Fuller Theological Seminary and the Evangelical Covenant Church. These deserving recipients have sacrificed much and devoted tremendous energy to advocating for the mutual leadership of men and women based on the teachings of Scripture. Their work has changed the world, and CBE is proud to work alongside them.”

Drs. Jack and Judy Balswick are authors and educators who have written several books and articles on marriage, sexuality, and gender, while also serving at Fuller Theological Seminary for over 30 years.

Dr. Pamela Durso has served as the executive director of Baptist Women in Ministry since 2009, an educator at several institutions, the editor of Baptist History and Heritage. She has written extensively on women in Baptist churches.

The Evangelical Covenant Church (ECC) has been ordaining women for ministry since 1976, and women have played a significant role in the denomination’s efforts as early as the 1800s. The ECC continues to be a vocal advocate for the women in church leadership.

Dr. Kurt Fredrickson is the associate dean for the Doctor of Ministry and Continuing Education programs at Fuller Theological Seminary, and has built a reputation as one of Fuller’s leading advocates for women in ministry.

Rev. Dr. Roberta Hestenes is a professor at Fuller Theological Seminary, the first woman president of an evangelical university and is also a part-time teaching pastor.

Dr. Richard Mouw served as president of Fuller Seminary for twenty years and guided Fuller to a position of unapologetic advocacy for women.

Dr. John Thompson teaches at Fuller Theological Seminary, and has written extensively on the leadership of women, with a focus on the Reformation era and theologians.

Dr. Marianne Meye Thompson is the George Eldon Ladd Professor of New Testament at Fuller Theological Seminary. She is an ordained minister and was the first woman on the Fuller Theology and Bible faculty.

Dr. James Smith has served as a pastor in Minnesota, Massachusetts, and California. He has practiced integrated ministry as pastor-teacher for over thirty years, and has been teaching church history and women’s leadership at Bethel Seminary since 1988.

CBE presented the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards on Saturday, July 25.

In its effort to advance a biblical foundation for gift-based rather than gender-based ministry and service, CBE sponsors annual conferences, facilitates local chapters, hosts an online bookstore and publishes two award-winning journals. For more information, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Tim Krueger
Visit website