Brain Aneurysm Foundation to Award Largest Amount of Research Funding

Share Article

This year 13 recipients will receive research grants at the 9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Awards Symposium on September 10th in Houston, Texas

9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Award Symposium

9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Award Symposium

This year, the Brain Aneurysm Foundation will provide the largest amount of funding ever in its history--$260,000.

The renowned Brain Aneurysm Foundation has just awarded the largest amount of research grants in its history of funding brain aneurysm research.

Each year, the Brain Aneurysm Foundation provides funding for medical professionals who have dedicated their life’s work toward scientific research directed at early detection, improved treatment modalities, and technological advances that will ultimately improve outcomes for patients with brain aneurysms, as well as projects that are translational, clinical/outcome, early detection, imaging, and SAH/SAH complications focused.

In 2014 the Brain Aneurysm Foundation awarded $230,000 in funding. This year, the Foundation will provide the largest amount of funding ever in its history--$260,000.

This years 13 recipients will be awarded their funding at the 9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Awards Symposium being held at Hotel Zaza in Houston, Texas on September 10th. For more information or to purchase tickets to attend, please email office(at)bafound(dot)org or call 781-826-5556.

The 2015 Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Award Recipients include:

  • Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research: $25,000

William Gibson, MD, The University of British Columbia, Child & Family Research Institute
Awarded for: Exome Sequencing Study of Dominant Mutations in Familial Brain Aneurysms

  • North Shore University Hospital Brain Aneurysm Center Chair of Research: $25,000

Itender Singh, MD, Washington University in St. Louis
Awarded for: The Role of Cyclophilin A in Blood-Brain Barrier, Neurionflammation and Vasospasm after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

  • Step for Hope Chair of Research: $25,000

Justin M. Caplan, MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Awarded for: The Role of Neural Stem Cells in Learning and Memory in Experimental Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

  • The Shirley Dudek Demmer Chair of Research: $25,000

Ashish Sonig, MD, University at Buffalo
Awarded for: MicroRNA in Unruptured Intracranial Aneurysms: Fostering a Mechanism of Early Detection

  • Kristen’s Legacy of Love Chair of Research: $20,000

Koji Hosaka, PhD, University of Florida
Awarded for: Mechanism of Aneurysm Progression and Healing: Differential Roles of Macrophages in Distinct Phases of Inflammation

  • The Maine’s KAT Walk & Karo-5K Chair of Research: $25,000

Kimberly P. Kicielinski, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Awarded for: Correlation of Cerebral Aneurysm Wall Structure on OCT Images with Flow Models of Wall Shear Stress: A Pilot Study

  • Timothy P. Susco Chair of Research: $25,000

Aichi Chien, PhD, The Regents of the University of California, Los Angeles
Award for: Longitudinal Analysis of Aneurysm 3D Morphology Changes and their Influence on Rupture Risk in Clinically followed Growing Aneurysms

  • The Ellie Helton Chair of Research: $15,000

Douglas J. Cook, MD, Queens University
Awarded for: Probing the Link between Indolent Aneurysmal Dome Infection and Brain Aneurysm Growth and Rupture

  • The Carol W. Harvey Memorial Chair of Research: $25,000

TeamCindy – Alcatraz Chair of Research: $10,000
Hui Meng, PhD, The State University of New York at Buffalo
Awarded for: Development of Blood-Based Biomarkers for Brain Aneurysm Detection: Stage II Model Development

  • The Doris A. Connor Memorial Chair of Research: $15,000

Christoph J. Griessenauer, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Awarded for: The Role of Anti-Angiogenic Factors Soluble Fms-Like Tyrosine Kinase-1 (sFlt-1) and Soluble Transforming Growth Factor B (TGFB) Co-Receptor Endoglin (sEng) in the Pathophysiology of Delayed Cerebral Ischemia

  • Karen M. Schurr Memorial Chair of Research: $10,000

Jung M. Park, MD, University of Iowa
Awarded for: The Role of Inflammation and Myeloperoxidase in Cerebral Aneurysm Formation and Rupture

  • Christopher C. Getch Chair of Research (sponsored by the CV Section): $10,000

Mohammad Amin Adibi, University of Calgary
Awarded for: Intravenous Mesenchymal Stem Cell Therapy on Aneurysm Formation in a Rabbit Model

  • Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research: $10,000

Shakira Brathwaite, St. Michael’s Hospital
Awarded for: Role of Toll-like Receptor 4 Signaling in Experimental Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

Now celebrating 20 years of service, the Brain Aneurysm Foundation was established in 1994 in Boston, Massachusetts with a mission to promote early detection of brain aneurysms by providing knowledge and raising awareness of the signs, symptoms and risk factors; work with the medical communities to provide support networks for patients and families; as well as to further research that will improve patient outcomes and save lives. For more information about the Brain Aneurysm Foundation, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Elizabeth Dow
Brain Aneurysm Foundation
+1 781-826-5556 Ext: 203
Email >
Follow >
The Brain Aneurysm Foundation
Like >
Visit website