Brain Aneurysm Foundation Awards Largest Amount of Research Funding at 9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Awards Symposium Sept 10th in Houston, Texas

Share Article

The Brain Aneurysm Foundation—the leading source of private funding of scientific research for early detection and improved treatment and technology for patients suffering from brain aneurysms—is proud to award the largest amount of funding in the history of the organization.

9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Award Symposium

9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Award Symposium

This year, the Foundation is set to provide the largest amount of funding ever in its history—$265,000.

As the nation’s premier nonprofit organization solely dedicated to providing critical research funding, as well as awareness, education and support in order to reduce the incidence of brain aneurysms and improve outcomes for patients, the Brain Aneurysm Foundation proudly announces this year it has awarded the most funding in the 20-year history of the organization.

In 2014, the Brain Aneurysm Foundation awarded $230,000 in funding. This year, the Foundation is set to provide the largest amount of funding ever in its history—$265,000.

The 9th Annual Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Awards Symposium will take place on September 10, 2015 at the Hotel Zaza in Houston, Texas. Researchers and medical professionals from across the globe attend this event annually to highlight research being conducted to improve early detection techniques, treatment modalities and technological advances. Also during this time, the 13 individuals listed below receive their research grants.

•Cynthia Lynn Sherwin Chair of Research: $25,000
William Gibson, MD, The University of British Columbia, Child & Family Research Institute
Awarded for: Exome Sequencing Study of Dominant Mutations in Familial Brain Aneurysms

•North Shore University Hospital Brain Aneurysm Center Chair of Research: $25,000
Itender Singh, MD, Washington University in St. Louis
Awarded for: The Role of Cyclophilin A in Blood-Brain Barrier, Neurionflammation and Vasospasm after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

•Step for Hope Chair of Research: $25,000
Justin M. Caplan, MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Awarded for: The Role of Neural Stem Cells in Learning and Memory in Experimental Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

•The Shirley Dudek Demmer Chair of Research: $25,000
Ashish Sonig, MD, University at Buffalo
Awarded for: MicroRNA in Unruptured Intracranial Aneurysms: Fostering a Mechanism of Early Detection

•Kristen’s Legacy of Love Chair of Research: $20,000
Koji Hosaka, PhD, University of Florida
Awarded for: Mechanism of Aneurysm Progression and Healing: Differential Roles of Macrophages in Distinct Phases of Inflammation

•The Maine’s KAT Walk & Karo-5K Chair of Research: $25,000
Kimberly P. Kicielinski, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Awarded for: Correlation of Cerebral Aneurysm Wall Structure on OCT Images with Flow Models of Wall Shear Stress: A Pilot Study

•Timothy P. Susco Chair of Research: $25,000
Aichi Chien, PhD, The Regents of the University of California, Los Angeles
Award for: Longitudinal Analysis of Aneurysm 3D Morphology Changes and their Influence on Rupture Risk in Clinically followed Growing Aneurysms

•The Ellie Helton Chair of Research: $15,000
Douglas J. Cook, MD, Queens University
Awarded for: Probing the Link between Indolent Aneurysmal Dome Infection and Brain Aneurysm Growth and Rupture

•The Carol W. Harvey Memorial Chair of Research: $25,000 / TeamCindy – Alcatraz Chair of Research: $10,000
Hui Meng, PhD, The State University of New York at Buffalo
Awarded for: Development of Blood-Based Biomarkers for Brain Aneurysm Detection: Stage II Model Development

•The Doris A. Connor Memorial Chair of Research: $15,000
Christoph J. Griessenauer, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Awarded for: The Role of Anti-Angiogenic Factors Soluble Fms-Like Tyrosine Kinase-1 (sFlt-1) and Soluble Transforming Growth Factor B (TGFB) Co-Receptor Endoglin (sEng) in the Pathophysiology of Delayed Cerebral Ischemia

•Karen M. Schurr Memorial Chair of Research: $10,000
Jung M. Park, MD-PhD student, University of Iowa
Awarded for: The Role of Inflammation and Myeloperoxidase in Cerebral Aneurysm Formation and Rupture

•Christopher C. Getch Chair of Research (sponsored by the CV Section): $10,000
Mohammad Amin Adibi, University of Calgary
Awarded for: Intravenous Mesenchymal Stem Cell Therapy on Aneurysm Formation in a Rabbit Model

•Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research: $10,000
Shakira Brathwaite, St. Michael’s Hospital
Awarded for: Role of Toll-like Receptor 4 Signaling in Experimental Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

For more information or to purchase tickets to attend, please email office(at)bafound(dot)org or call 781-826-5556.

The Brain Aneurysm Foundation was established in 1994 in Boston, Massachusetts with a mission to promote early detection of brain aneurysms by providing knowledge and raising awareness of the signs, symptoms and risk factors; work with the medical communities to provide support networks for patients and families; as well as to further research that will improve patient outcomes and save lives. For more information about the Brain Aneurysm Foundation, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Elizabeth Dow
Brain Aneurysm Foundation
+1 781-826-5556 Ext: 203
Email >
Follow >
The Brain Aneurysm Foundation
Like >
Visit website