US Speedskating Announces 2015-16 National Training Program

Share Article

This season’s National Team Program features 9 U.S. Olympians and multiple World Cup medalists

“We have a team of experienced winners and a lot of talent that we believe will contribute to the success of our program over the next several years.” - Nick Pearson, Long Track Program Director.

US Speedskating has announced the 2015-16 National Training Program, consisting of nine Olympians. The talented group of 30 athletes is headlined by three-time World Champion Brittany Bowe (Ocala, Fla.) and three-time Olympic Medalist J.R. Celski (Federal Way, Wash.).

The National Team Program is an elite group of 30 female and male athletes who were selected to the team based on performance standards from the 2014-15 season.

Fellow Olympians Jonathan Garcia (Houston, Texas), Joey Mantia (Ocala, Fla.), Sugar Todd (Omaha, Neb.), Mitch Whitmore (Waukesha, Wisc.) and Kelly Gunther (Clinton Township, Mich.) join Bowe on the Long Track National Team, along with a deep roster of internationally experienced skaters.

“We have a team of experienced winners and a lot of talent that we believe will contribute to the success of our program over the next several years,” said Nick Pearson, Long Track Program Director. “Our national team is in a really good place right now and we look to continue to build upon that as well as our depth in the development pipeline.”

Joining Celski on the Short Track National Team will be 2014 Olympic teammates Chris Creveling (Kitnersville, Pa.) and Jessica Smith (Melvindale, Mich.). In addition, returning to the National Team Program this year are Lexi Burkholder (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Adam Callister (Salt Lake City, Utah), Casey Mullarkey (Cleveland, Ohio) and Katy Ralston (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.), along with 2015 World Championship Team members Keith Carroll Jr. (Honey Brook, Pa.), Kimi Goetz (Flemington, N.J.) and Ryan Pivirotto (Ann Arbor, Mich.).

“We have a great mix of successful veterans along with some really exciting young talent,” Short Track National Head Coach Jon Cavar said. “We look forward to watching these athletes grow together and learn from one another as we build towards the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympic Games.”

The complete Short Track and Long Track National Team Program roster is listed below and can be found online:

Lexi Burkholder
Adam Callister
Keith Carroll Jr. *
J.R. Celski
Chris Creveling
Kimi Goetz *
Casey Mullarkey
Ryan Pivirotto *
Katy Ralston
Kristen Santos *
Jessica Smith
Aaron Tran *
Jae Jae Yoo *
Soo An Yoo *

Erin Barlett
Brittany Bowe
Jonathan Garcia
Kimani Griffin *
Kelly Gunther
Steven Hartman
Joey Mantia
Xander Mark
Ian Quinn *
Chase Reichmann
Kyle Ronchak
Carlijn Schoutens *
Paige Schwartzburg *
Jerica Tandiman *
Sugar Todd
Mitch Whitmore

  • denotes first-year NTP member

The men and women’s Short Track World Cup Qualifier will be held Oct. 3-4 in Milwaukee, Wisc. at the Pettit National Ice Center. The Long Track World Cup Qualifier will be Oct. 16-18 in Kearns, Utah at the Utah Olympic Oval.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Matt Whewell
US Speedskating
+1 (801) 417-5374
Email >
since: 08/2009
Follow >
US Speedskating
since: 12/2009
Like >
Visit website