2015 Hanley Award and $50,000 Prize Go to Gail Vittori

Share Article

The Hanley Award is the largest and most prestigious annual award for sustainability in the built environment

The Hanley Foundation and Hanley Wood announced today that Gail Vittori, Co-director of the Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems in Austin, TX, has been selected as the recipient of The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainability. The Hanley Award is recognized as the largest and most prestigious annual award for sustainability in the built environment.

Now celebrating its sixth year, The Hanley Award is sponsored by The Hanley Foundation and supported by Hanley Wood’s BUILDER and ARCHITECT publications and EcoBuildingPulse (EcoBuildingPulse.com). The award is dedicated to identifying and honoring individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary, lasting, and far-reaching contributions to sustainability, and who have greatly influenced policy and industry response to critical environmental challenges in the United States.

“Gail is a humble person and extremely generous with her time in mentoring young professionals,” said Michael J. Hanley, president of the Hanley Foundation. “She’s been a dedicated and passionate advocate for sustainability, bringing best practices to health care facilities, design, construction and operations. I’m very excited that Gail is the first woman to win the Hanley Award.”

Vittori was selected from this year’s slate of nominees that included Janine Benyus (Biomimicry Institute), Mary Ann Lazarus (HOK), Vivian Loftness (Carnegie Mellon), Amory Lovins (Rocky Mountain Institute), Jason McLennan (Living Future Institute), Jonathan Rose (Jonathan Rose Companies) and Sarah Susanka (The Not So Big Series).

The Hanley Award judges this year were Michael J. Hanley, President of the Hanley Foundation and creator of The Hanley Award; Frank Anton, Vice Chairman of Hanley Wood; Bob Berkebile; Founding Principal of BNIM Architects; Judith Webb, Executive Vice President of Marketing Strategy at U.S. Green Building Council, Elizabeth Heider, Chief Sustainability Officer of Skanska; and Rick Schwolsky, former editor-in-chief of EcoHome magazine.

Previous Hanley Award recipients are architect and environmental advocate Edward Mazria, who founded Architecture 2030, Alex Wilson, who founded and leads BuildingGreen LLC, Sam Rashkin, creator of Energy Star for Homes, the first national residential energy rating system in the country, Dennis Creech, co-founder and executive director of Southface and Bob Berkebile, Principal of BNIM.

The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainability will be presented to the winner on November 17, 2015 during the International Greenbuild Conference and Expo in Washington, D.C.

About The Hanley Foundation
The Hanley Foundation is a non-profit foundation created in 1999 by Michael and Kathryn Hanley that provides support for organizations working in the areas of affordable housing, environmental awareness, and community services. The Washington, DC-based foundation supports local entities helping to provide shelter, like Friendship Place in Washington, D.C. and the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Washington, and environmental organizations like the Chesapeake Bay Foundation. The Hanley Awards were created to recognize and honor significant and lasting contributions to advancing sustainability in the built environment. The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainability, now in its fifth year, was established in 2009.

About Hanley Wood
Hanley Wood is the premier company serving the information, media, and marketing needs of the residential, commercial design and construction industry. Utilizing the largest analytics-and-editorially-driven Construction Industry Database, the company provides business intelligence and data driven services. The company produces award-winning media, both digital and print, high-profile executive events, and strategic marketing solutions. To learn more, visit hanleywood.com.

About the Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems:
Established in 1975, Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems is a nonprofit organization based in Austin, Texas. Through the creation of protocols, policies, and prototypes, research and educational initiatives, The Center’s mission is to create healthy, sustainable communities that inspire ecologically innovative designs, integrate air, water, food, energy and material balanced systems, steward natural resources, and elevate community resilience, human health and economic vitality for all. For more information, visit http://www.cmpbs.org.

Irina Woelfle
IWPR Group
(772) 231-7532

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Irina Woelfle
IWPR Group
+1 203-570-6770
Email >
Visit website