Oregon Water Resources Department and ONE DROP to Receive IWRM Awards

Share Article

The awards will be presented to both organizations by the American Water Resources Association (AWRA) during its Annual Conference November 16-19, 2015, in Denver, CO.

AWRA Awards

Mark Dunning (r) presents AWRA's prestigious Mary H. Marsh Medal to Ronald W. Sullivan during AWRA's 2014 Annual Conference and 50th Anniversary Celebration.

If we are to solve the water crisis permanently...it will require from all stakeholders at every level to factor-in behavioral insight into infrastructure-related policies and programs. Catherine B. Blachand, CEO, One Drop.

The American Water Resources Association (AWRA) is pleased to announce that the Integrated Water Resources Strategy of the Oregon Water Resources Department is the 2015 winner of the Association's prestigious Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) Award. AWRA is also excited to announce its first ever IWRM Special Recognition Award winner ONE DROP's Project Burkina Faso.

Both awards will be presented during the Annual Awards Luncheon at the Association's Annual Water Resources Conference, November 18, 2015, Grand Hyatt Denver, in Denver, CO.

"Oregon is honored to receive the 2015 IWRM Award and greatly appreciates the Association’s commitment to and recognition of Integrated Water Resources Management," Tom Byler, Director of the Oregon Water Resources Department remarked. "The state’s first water strategy was developed collaboratively, resulting in a long-term blueprint for meeting Oregon’s water quantity, water quality, and ecosystem needs. The Water Resources Department and its partners are gearing up for the 2017 Update to Oregon’s Integrated Water Resources Strategy. Receiving this award is a positive reminder to continue fostering collaborative planning across different sectors and institutions."

Oregon’s Integrated Water Resources Strategy was adopted by Oregon’s Water Resources Commission in August 2012. The Strategy provides a roadmap for meeting the state’s instream and out-of-stream water needs, including water quantity, water quality, and ecosystem needs. The 2013 Oregon Legislature strongly supported implementation of the state’s first water strategy, providing more than $30 million in funding across agencies, leading to greater collaboration between Oregon’s natural resources agencies. The 2015 Oregon Legislature continued its support, investing an additional $54 million for water infrastructure projects.

“We at ONE DROP are both proud and humbled to accept this award,” said Catherine B. Bachand, CEO, One Drop. “It is extremely encouraging to know that our unique approach to sustainable water access - which was on full display in Burkina Faso - has been recognized at the highest level by a leading technical organization in the field. If we are to solve the water crisis permanently, making universal and sustainable access to water and sanitation services a reality, it will require from all stakeholders at every level to factor-in behavioral insight into infrastructure-related policies and programs and we are happy that through this award, this is being recognized.”

ONE DROP started Project Burkina Faso in 2012 in the region of Cascades and Hauts-Bassins. Developed using a systematic approach called The ABCs for Sustainability; the project uses three complementary components: access to safe drinking water and sanitation (“A”), behavior change using social art (“B”), and access to capital/entrepreneurship (“C”). Deployed over five years, this project will improve the living conditions of 100, 000 people.

AWRA will also present several other awards during the November 18th Luncheon, including:

Outstanding AWRA State Section Award
Washington State Section

Outstanding AWRA Student Chapter Award
DE AWRA Student Chapter

JAWRA W. R. Boggess Award
William P. Anderson, Jr.
Kristan Cockerill
Paper Title: "Creating False Images: Stream Restoration in an Urban Setting”

Fellow Member
Ge Sun
C. Mark Dunning

Icko Iben
Richard A. Engberg

Sandor C. Csallany Institutional Award for Exemplary Contributions to Water Resources
Sacramento Water Forum

David R. Maidment Award for Exemplary Contributions to Water Resources Data and Information Systems
Anne J. Castle

AWRA Awards
Each year, the American Water Resources Association gives several awards and scholarships. Nominations for 2016 will open in the new year. For more information visit the AWRA Annual Awards page, IWRM Award page, or the AWRA Scholarships page on our website.

About AWRA
Since 1964, the American Water Resources Association has been dedicated to the advancement of water resources management, research and education, as well as a balanced approach toward solving water resources challenges. AWRA’s membership is comprised of professionals who share a common interest in working and learning across a wide range of disciplines focused on water resources policy, practice and education. Visit AWRA.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Christine McCrehin
Follow >
American Water Resources Association
since: 04/2010
Like >
Visit website