KEXP Live from Iceland Airwaves 2015

Share Article

KEXP will broadcast live from KEX Hostel in Reykjavik during the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival.

KEXP Iceland Airwaves Livestream
“The music scene in Iceland is remarkable—there’s so much creativity, diversity, and a seemingly endless pool of talent."

KEXP, in cooperation with Iceland Naturally, Iceland Airwaves and KEX Hostel, is returning to the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival this year and will broadcast live from KEX Hostel in Reykjavik. Hosted by DJs Cheryl Waters and Kevin Cole, KEXP will also feature a live international video feed from the festival.

Listen to the broadcast or watch the live video stream by visiting and from Wed. Nov. 4th to Sat. Nov. 7th. Seattle area listeners can tune to 90.3FM Wed. through Fri. 6:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. PST to hear the full live broadcast on air. All performances hosted at KEX Hostel are free and open to the public.

The music scene in Iceland is remarkable—there’s so much creativity, diversity, and a seemingly endless pool of talent,” said Kevin Cole, Senior Director of Content at KEXP. “Every year we’ve discovered, and shared with the world, amazing artists like Of Monsters And Men, Ásgeir, Mammút, Samaris, and Júníus Meyvant. We’re excited to return to Iceland Airwaves and see who blows us away in 2015. Tune in to find out!”

KEXP works relentlessly to find the greatest music and artists from around the world and connect them with a global audience of music lovers via our live stream at This will be the seventh time KEXP has attended the festival as part of its mission to discover and champion new artists and new music. KEXP’s past involvement in the festival brought increased attention to relatively unknown acts, such as Of Monsters and Men, Ásgeir, and Sóley, leading to international recognition of these artists and the vibrant music community of Iceland.

KEXP’s Iceland Airwaves broadcast will feature live on-air performances from 19 artists playing at this year’s festival, including: GusGus, Júníus Meyvant, and Hjaltalín among many others.

The Iceland Airwaves broadcast is a joint project of KEXP and Iceland Naturally. It’s presented by KEXP in partnership with KEX Hostel, City of Reykjavik, Icelandair, Iceland Airwaves, Blue Lagoon, Icelandic Glacial Water, KEXLAND, Brennivin and Reyka Vodka. Click here to see the complete Iceland Airwaves lineup.

Wednesday, November 4th
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – East of My Youth
08:00AM PST/ 11:00AM EST – Markús & the Diversion Sessions
10:00AM PST/ 01:00PM EST – Operators
11:30AM PST/ 02:30PM EST – Hjaltalín
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Fufanu

Thursday, November 5th
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Úlfur Eldjárn
08:00AM PST/ 11:00AM EST – Júníus Meyvant
10:00AM PST/ 01:00PM EST – LoneLady
11:30AM PST/ 02:30PM EST – Emmsjé Gauti
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – GusGus

Friday, November 6th
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Sóley
08:00AM PST/ 11:00AM EST – Agent Fresco
10:00AM PST/ 01:00PM EST – Low Roar
11:30AM PST/ 02:30PM EST – Bo Ningen
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Vök

Saturday, November 7th (not broadcast but available as live streaming video)
04:00AM PST/ 07:00AM EST – Sturla Atlas
06:00AM PST/ 9:00AM EST – Reykjavíkurdætur
8:00AM PST/ 11:00AM EST – Úlfur Úlfur
9:30AM PST/ 12:30PM EST – Æla

About KEXP
KEXP is one of the most influential listener-supported music radio stations in the country. More than 200,000 listeners from around the world tune in to the station each week over the air and online. On KEXP's YouTube channel, videos of exclusive in-studio performances garner more than 1.7 million views per week. KEXP produces over 500 live performances each year. For more information, please visit

About Iceland Naturally
Iceland Naturally is a cooperative marketing organization that promotes the tourism, services, products and culture of Iceland. It represents the true essence of Iceland; its creativity and spectacular natural wonders. The group is comprised of Icelandair, Icelandic Group, Islandsbanki, Reyka Vodka, City of Reykjavik, Icelandic Glacial Water, Blue Lagoon, Keflavik International Airport (KEF), Landsvirkjun, Ölgerðin Egill Skallagrímsson, Promote Iceland and the Government of Iceland. For more information, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Ethan Raup
+1 206-351-2684
Email >

Hlynur Gudjonsson
Visit website