'I Killed John Lennon' Documentary Delves into the Mind of the Man Who Murdered The Beatles Legend

Share Article

Documentary Makes its U.S. Premiere Wednesday, December 2 at 10pm ET/ 7pm PT and Includes Recorded Interviews from Convicted Killer Mark Chapman. Episodes of REELZ Original Series ‘Hollywood Scandals’ and ‘Celebrity Legacies’ Return with Insight into the Lives and Legacies of John Lennon and George Harrison

REELZ today announced the documentary special "I Killed John Lennon" will make its U.S. premiere Wednesday, December 2 at 10pm ET/ 7pm PT taking viewers inside the mind of the man who murdered legendary singer-songwriter John Lennon. Having subsequently been sentenced to 20 years to life imprisonment, it was not until a decade later in a series of taped interviews with journalist Jack Jones that convicted killer Mark Chapman explained what motivated him to commit this act of infamy. In "I Killed John Lennon", these recorded interviews along with commentary from Jones, police personnel and psychologists help unravel the motives behind one of the most infamous murderers in modern history.

December 8, 2015 marks 35 years since Mark Chapman shot John Lennon four times outside the famous Dakota apartment building across from Central Park in New York. By killing the iconic member of The Beatles and one of the most famous people on the planet, Chapman immediately joined the pantheon of the most notorious killers of the 20th century. But why did this middle class young man, who had idolized The Beatles, kill his hero? Chapman’s decision to tell his story to journalist Jack Jones exposed him to a serious analysis that, for the first time, provided a convincing account for how and why he killed John Lennon. "I Killed John Lennon" was licensed from The Television Syndication Company.

Additional chances to watch "I Killed John Lennon":

  •     Saturday, December 5 at 4pm ET/ 1pm PT
  •     Monday, December 7 at 10pm ET/ 7pm PT
  •     Thursday, December 17 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT
  •     Tuesday, December 22 at 5pm ET/ 2pm PT

Immediately after "I Killed John Lennon", back-to-back episodes of REELZ original series "Hollywood Scandals" and "Celebrity Legacies" return, exploring the controversies that surrounded John Lennon throughout his captivating life and the legacy that endured long after his death. Then, on Saturday, December 5 it’s the return of "Celebrity Legacies – George Harrison” presenting an inside look at the battle that was waged on Harrison’s fortune after the peace-promoting musician’s untimely passing.

Full show descriptions and additional airdates are below:

"Hollywood Scandals - John Lennon” Returns Wednesday, December 2 at 11pm ET/ 8pm PT
John Lennon was one of the most influential and important artists in music history. But the public face of peace, love and revolution was a mask and behind his righteous persona was a troubled man crippled by a traumatic childhood. John Lennon buried the pain of abandonment by spending his whole life building a myth, but when the private truth became public, it ultimately cost him everything.

Additional chances to watch "Hollywood Scandals – John Lennon”:

  •     Saturday, December 5 at 2pm ET/ 11am PT
  •     Monday, December 7 at 8pm ET/ 5pm PT and again at 11pm ET/ 8pm PT
  •     Thursday, December 17 at 6pm ET/ 3pm PT
  •     Tuesday, December 22 at 2pm ET/ 11am PT

"Celebrity Legacies - John Lennon” Returns Wednesday, December 2 at 12am ET/ 9pm PT
John Lennon was one of the greatest singers and songwriters of all time. A peace activist and multi-millionaire, Lennon was shot dead by a fan. He left a legacy that will live forever, along with a giant fortune to his wife Yoko Ono. His disgruntled son, Julian, waged a battle lasting almost two decades for his share of his father’s fortune and history.

Additional chances to watch "Celebrity Legacies – John Lennon”:

  •     Saturday, December 5 at 3pm ET/ 12pm PT
  •     Monday, December 7 at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT and again at 12am ET/ 9pm PT
  •     Thursday, December 17 at 7pm ET/ 4pm PT
  •     Tuesday, December 22 at 3pm ET/ 12pm PT

"Celebrity Legacies - George Harrison” Returns Saturday, December 5 at 5pm ET/ 2pm PT
One of the “Fab Four” who comprised The Beatles, George Harrison reinvented rock and roll and, in the process, became one of the biggest rock stars of all time. After developing an interest in Indian culture and mysticism, his attention turned to charity as he organized numerous benefits to help those less fortunate and promote Eastern ideas of peacefulness. After he died at age 58 due to lung cancer, his desire for peace and love appeared lost on those who scrambled to grab a piece of the fortune he left behind.

Additional chances to watch "Celebrity Legacies – George Harrison”:

  •     Thursday, December 17 at 8pm ET/ 5pm PT
  •     Tuesday, December 22 at 4pm ET/ 1pm PT

About REELZCHANNEL—Hollywood Happens Here™
REELZ is a leading independent cable and satellite general entertainment network, connecting its viewers across America with the magic, wonder and excitement of Hollywood wherever it happens. The network is home to cutting-edge factual entertainment and reality programs, compelling television events, miniseries, movies and series featuring big stories and big stars. Programming ranges from the critically acclaimed and award-winning "The Kennedys" to "Master P’s Family Empire", "Autopsy: The Last Hours Of…", "Celebrity Legacies", "OK! TV", "Hollywood Scandals", "Murder Made Me Famous", "Fame Kills", "Behind the Screams", the upcoming miniseries "The Kennedys-After Camelot" and much more that connects directly to the world of entertainment. REELZ also showcases top movie and entertainment expert Leonard Maltin who provides specific on-air recommendations for movies viewers can watch at home.

REELZ is available in 70 million homes on DIRECTV channel 238, DISH Network channel 299, Verizon FiOS TV channel 233, Time Warner Cable channel 128, AT&T U-verse channels 799/1799HD and cable systems nationwide. Find REELZ in your area by visiting http://www.reelz.com. REELZ is a High-Definition network and if it is not available, or not in HD, on your cable or telco provider, we encourage viewers to call them and ask for it. Owned by Hubbard Media Group, REELZ is headquartered in Albuquerque, NM with national ad sales based in New York City with offices in Boston and Chicago. As one of the last truly independent television networks remaining in today’s media landscape REELZ has created the Independence Happens Here® website to help keep free thought and innovation alive by highlighting the importance of independent businesses. The website can be found at http://IndependenceHappensHere.com.

For more information, please contact the REELZ Media Line
877- REELZTV (733-5988) / pr(at)reelz.com

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Rachel Bass
ReelzChannel, LLC
+1 (505) 212-8809
Email >
Visit website