Pearson Announces 2016 Online Learning Excellence Award Finalists

Share Article

K-20 Educators and Administrators Honored for Demonstrating Measurable Best Practices and Innovation in Online Education

News Image

Pearson today announced the 20 finalists for the 2016 Online Learning Excellence Awards for outstanding K-20 leaders working in online or blended learning environments. The awards honor educators and administrators who have demonstrated measurable best practices and innovation in online education. Two award winners in each category will be announced on February 10 at Pearson’s online learning conference, Cite 2016, in Amelia Island, Florida.

As part of Pearson’s commitment to inspiring and supporting excellence in online education, the company will donate $1,500 to the scholarship fund of each winner’s choice. 2016 award finalists are:

K-12 – Excellence in Online Administration
Seith Bedard, director, Peabody Learning Academy, Peabody, Mass.
David Cline, principal, Hart-Ransom Academic Charter School, Modesto, Calif.
Byron Fairchild, business director, Orange County Department of Education, Costa Mesa, Calif.
Andrew Hulbert, executive director of virtual learning, Oxford Community Schools, Oxford, Mich.
Victoria Stroud, instructional specialist, Mountain High Education Charter High School, Cleveland, Ga.

K-12 – Excellence in Online Teaching
Sarah Allen, first grade teacher, Indian Creek School, Crownsville, Md.
Teena Atkins, teacher, Mountain Education Charter High School, Cleveland, Ga.
Kathryn Grimes, teacher, Riverchase Middle School, Birmingham, Ala.
Dianne Hardy, lead mathematics instructor, Mountain Education Charter High School, Cleveland, Ga.
Stephen Roth, Upper School STEM teacher, Indian Creek School, Crownsville, Md.

Higher Education – Excellence in Online Administration
Patricia James, executive director, California Community College Online Education Initiative, Sacramento, Calif.
Bruce Kauss, eLearning coordinator, Blue Mountain College, Blue Mountain, Ore.
Krista LeBrun, dean of eLearning education, East Central Community College, Decatur, Miss.
Sandra Mohr, director of faculty, Wentworth Institute of Technology, Boston
Ephraim Ross, director of instructional innovation, American College of Healthcare Sciences, Portland, Ore.

Higher Education – Excellence in Online Teaching
Matthew Bruder, professor, DeVry University, Chicago
Sean Nufer, eLearning specialist & adjunct professor, Chicago School of Professional Psychology, Chicago
Darren Walsh, assistant vice president of learning and academic support services, Excelsior College, Albany, N.Y.
Katherine Wesley, assistant professor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, Neb.
Teri Yamada, chair and instructor, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies, California State University, Long Beach, Long Beach, Calif.     

Celebrating its 16th year, Cite offers more than 65 interactive sessions in five learning tracks, dynamic keynote speakers – both live and virtually – and the opportunity for attendees to earn continuing education units. To learn more about Cite 2016, visit this website. Follow @PearsonNorthAm and use #pearsoncite to join the conversation.

About Pearson
Pearson is the world’s leading learning company, with 40,000 employees in more than 80 countries working to help people of all ages to make measurable progress in their lives through learning. For more information about Pearson, visit

Media Contact: Scott Overland, scott(dot)overland(at)pearson(dot)com, 202-909-4520

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Scott Overland
+1 (800) 745-8489
Email >
Visit website