The Global Water Awards - Nominations Now Opened!

Share Article

Nominations for the 2016 Global Water Awards are now open at and will close on the 31st January.

Global Water Awards

The categories for the industry renowned 2016 Global Water Awards have been announced.

Established in 2006 by Global Water Intelligence, the Awards recognize and reward those initiatives in the water, wastewater and desalination sectors that are moving the industry forward through improved operating performance, innovative technology adoption and sustainable financial models.

This year, the official sponsor for the Global Water Awards is Evoqua. The coveted Awards are presented at the Global Water Summit, the major business conference for the water industry worldwide. The Awards acknowledge the most important achievements in the international water industry within several categories. The winners will be announced at the Global Water Awards Gala Dinner, and will take place on the evening of 19 April 2016 at the Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Global Water Intelligence is proud to announce that the keynote speaker for the event is Felipe Calderón, former President of Mexico (2006 - 2012) and Chairman of the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate.

As one of Latin America’s most distinguished leaders, he is internationally recognized as the president who strengthened the rule of law and made possible the economic recovery of Mexico after the world economic crisis. Felipe Calderón was named “Statesman of the Year” by the World Economic Forum, and considered one of the 100 most influential people by Time magazine. Currently he is a member of the Advisory Council of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD); member of the Board of the World Resources Institute and Chairman of the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate.

From the 5th November until the 31st January, a panel of experts will filter out the shortlist of nominations for the 2016 Global Water Awards. The shortlist will be published in February 2016 and voting will be opened to readers of Global Water Intelligence and Water Desalination Report, and the members of the International Desalination Association (IDA).

The 2016 provisional categories are:

  •     Water Company of the Year
  •     Desalination Company of the Year
  •     Public Water Agency of the Year
  •     Desalination Plant of the Year
  •     Water Reuse Project of the Year
  •     Industrial Water Project of the Year
  •     Desalination Deal of the Year
  •     Water Deal of the Year
  •     Water Technology Company of the Year
  •     Water Performance Initiative of the Year
  •     Corporate Water Stewardship Award
  •     Water/Wastewater Project of the Year
  •     Water Technology of the Year

Global Water Intelligence reserves the right to change or amend these categories at any given time during the nominations period.

For further details please contact: Edyta Bednorz

*The 2016 Summit will be held on 19th and 20th April 2016 at the Jumeirah at Etihad Towers in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Hosted by Global Water Intelligence and the International Desalination Association, GWS is a leading business event for water leaders throughout the world. The Summit is part of the GWI Live Events portfolio - other events include the annual American Water Summit, Ultrapure Water Pharmaceutical and Microelectronics Events and the Produced Water Society Seminar.

Global Water Intelligence also researches and publishes business data and information about the water markets worldwide and was awarded the Queen’s Award for Enterprise in 2011.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Chantal Marchesi