Keith Hansen To Receive 2016 Joe Dey Award

Share Article

The United States Golf Association (USGA) announced Keith Hansen as the recipient of the 2016 Joe Dey Award.

News Image
Keith’s commitment to the USGA serves as an inspiration to the thousands of volunteers who comprise the backbone of our Association, and who dedicate countless hours to the game we love, said Tom O’Toole Jr., USGA president

The United States Golf Association (USGA) today announced Keith Hansen, of Providence, Utah, a 27-year member of two USGA committees, as the recipient of the 2016 Joe Dey Award.

The USGA has presented the Joe Dey Award annually since 1996 in recognition of an individual’s meritorious service to the game as a volunteer. It is named for Joseph C. Dey Jr., who served as the USGA’s executive director from 1934 to 1969, before serving as the first commissioner of the PGA Tour.

Hansen has served on the USGA’s Regional Affairs Committee and Mid-Amateur Committee since 1989. During that time, he has worked as a Rules official at more than 80 USGA championships, including 10 U.S. Opens. When not working as a Rules official, Hansen has also volunteered his time and energy to numerous state and regional championships and qualifying events. He received the Ike Grainger Award, which honors 25 years of service to the USGA, in 2013.

Hansen has been a valuable asset and selfless contributor to golf in his home state. A 2015 inductee into the Utah Golf Hall of Fame, he served nine years on the Utah Golf Association board of directors, including two years as president. He has also served on the board of directors of the Utah Golf Foundation and The First Tee of Utah.

“Keith’s commitment to the USGA serves as an inspiration to the thousands of volunteers who comprise the backbone of our Association, and who dedicate countless hours to the game we love,” said Tom O’Toole Jr., USGA president. “We are honored to recognize Keith’s important role in embodying our mission, and promoting a stronger connection to golf through selfless service.”

“I was shocked to get the call from Tom O’Toole,” said Hansen. “I have always believed that individuals should donate their time and volunteer for worthy causes. You receive more than you give when you volunteer. Through the years, I have met many past recipients of the Joe Dey Award, and I am honored to be included in that select group.”

Hansen will receive the Joe Dey Award at the USGA’s Annual Meeting and Service Awards in San Diego, on Feb. 6, 2016. The Service Awards Dinner honors the people whose dedication and outstanding accomplishments have made an important contribution to the USGA and its mission to serve the game. In addition to the Joe Dey Award, the Ike Grainger Award, the USGA Green Section Award and the Herbert Warren Wind Book Award will be presented at the Service Awards Dinner.

The USGA conducts the U.S. Open, U.S. Women’s Open and U.S. Senior Open, as well as 10 national amateur championships, two state team championships and international matches, attracting players and fans from more than 160 countries. Together with The R&A, the USGA governs the game worldwide, jointly administering the Rules of Golf, Rules of Amateur Status, equipment standards and World Amateur Golf Rankings. The USGA’s reach is global with a working jurisdiction in the United States, its territories and Mexico, serving more than 25 million golfers and actively engaging 150 golf associations.

The USGA is one of the world’s foremost authorities on research, development and support of sustainable golf course management practices. It serves as a primary steward for the game’s history and invests in the development of the game through the delivery of its services and its ongoing “For the Good of the Game” grants program. Additionally, the USGA’s Course Rating and Handicap systems are used on six continents in more than 50 countries.

For more information about the USGA, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jeffrey Altstadter
Visit website