New novel portrays revolution, romance in faraway land of Voskia

Share Article

Authors Isabella and Irena de Wardin tells tale of ‘The Humming Bird’ with music, lyrics, class warfare.

News Image

From the imagination of sisters Isabella and Irena de Wardin, and their study of historical and modern European politics, comes the tale of “The Humming Bird Book 1” (published by Xlibris UK). Set in the fictional nation of Voskia, it follows Maria Langlord, daughter of a noble house, as she strives to escape a planned marriage with perverse old Lord Byronaless, just as the appearance of a wild gypsy violinist triggers her desire to know the world around her and fight against a fascist force threatening the land.

After four years of war, the newly democratized nation is impoverished and its future hangs in the balance. Members of the former nobility and aristocracy still hold sway, desperately clinging to the vestiges of their power. A ruthless politician marches for presidency, and garners the favor of the rich and the powerful, becoming a force to be reckoned with.

The promise of genocide hangs thick in the air and Maria unexpectedly becomes tangled in an epic struggle for freedom. She embarks on a series of unforgettable adventures, a journey accompanied by music, a cheerful, rebellious messenger and bringer of sensual magic and romance that will guide her through the darkness of the newborn disaster striking her nation.

“The world the authors create is exaggerated and because of that exaggeration there is a lot of humour. I was laughing out loud, really. It’s a very exciting read!” says Charlotte Hubert. The Clarion Review reports: “For readers of The Humming Bird, the greatest reward comes not through any final resolution, but in the promise of a sequel.”

Readers will follow Maria as her shadowy, wintry life is lit by warm melodies recapturing wisps of dreams, putting them back into words, into music. Music, poetry, comedy and the struggle for liberty, all these aspects will come together as “The Humming Bird takes flight.”

“The Humming Bird Book 1”
By Isabella and Irena de Wardin
Hardcover |6 x 9 in | 308 pages | ISBN 9781499087086
Softcover | 6 x 9 in | 308 pages | ISBN 9781499087079
E-Book | 308 pages | ISBN 9781499087093
Available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

About the Authors
Isabella and Irena de Wardin are sisters who graduated with the International Baccalaureate, studied International Affairs, and have received their MS degrees in European Union policy. They currently live in Belgium. “The Humming Bird: Book 1: Madness in Crescendo” is their first book.

Xlibris Publishing UK, an Author Solutions, LLC imprint, is a self-publishing services provider dedicated to serving authors throughout the United Kingdom. By focusing on the needs of creative writers and artists and adopting the latest print-on-demand publishing technology and strategies, we provide expert publishing services with direct and personal access to quality publication in hardcover, trade paperback, custom leather-bound and full-color formats. To date, Xlibris has helped to publish more than 60,000 titles. For more information, visit xlibrispublishing.co.uk or call 0800 056 3182 to receive a free publishing guide. Follow us @XlibrisUK on Twitter for the latest news.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marketing Services
Xlibris
+1 800-056-3182
Email >
Visit website