Ernesto Marcos’ new book blends supernatural with dark humor

Share Article

‘Urgent Tales of Mystery and Horror’ shares 11 supernatural stories of pure fantasy

News Image

“Writing is an impulse,” says Ernesto Marcos, “a desire and an exploratory journey where one is driven to write.” Inspired by the work of Ray Bradbury, Philip K. Dick, Rod Serling, Salvador Dalí, and Isaac Asimov among others, every childhood monster that ever appeared on his dreamscape doorstep have come to shape and create “Urgent Tales of Mystery and Horror,” (published by Xlibris). A collection of mystery, sci-fi and horror stories intended not only to put a little scare in the reader but to make them think a bit afterward.

This collection of 11 supernatural and cautionary accounts brings together a maelstrom of sideshow freaks, vampires, aliens, and other mythical creatures that blends horror with dread-induced humor, granting readers an entry into the world of the inexplicable, the irrational, and the delectably bizarre.

“Each story is disturbingly different,” says Marcos. “They go beyond what meets the eye. In the tradition of J.L. Borges, Carpentier and Poe, many of the themes are enigmatic. Clues abound throughout each story referencing allusions that add intrigue and amusement.”

Although the stories are written based on the supernatural, “Urgent Tales of Mystery and Horror” goes beyond the genre of horror or of mystery. The themes and characters are not comic book-like. They face many challenges beyond the unearthly, paranormal or ghostly and they have their own demons to contend with.

“Urgent Tales of Mystery and Horror”
By Ernesto Marcos
Hardcover | 6 x 9in | 244 pages | ISBN 9781503542990
Softcover | 6 x 9in | 244 pages | ISBN 9781503543003
E-Book | 244 pages | ISBN 9781503543010
Available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

About the Author
Writer/composer Ernesto Marcos arrived from Cuba at the age of four in New York City. His youthful imagination was enriched by the culture of museums, libraries, and theater. Early on, he fell in love with the literature of many distinct writers—writers such as Poe, Dumas, Kafka, Borges, and Hesse. After sojourning, over the years, among a number of cities throughout the United States, Marcos is back in South Florida.

Xlibris Publishing, an Author Solutions, LLC imprint, is a self-publishing services provider created in 1997 by authors, for authors. By focusing on the needs of creative writers and artists and adopting the latest print-on-demand publishing technology and strategies, we provide expert publishing services with direct and personal access to quality publication in hardcover, trade paperback, custom leather-bound and full-color formats. To date, Xlibris has helped to publish more than 60,000 titles. For more information, visit xlibris.com or call 1-888-795-4274 to receive a free publishing guide. Follow us @XlibrisPub on Twitter for the latest news.
###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marketing Services
Xlibris
+1 888-795-4274 Ext: 7879
Email >
Visit website