Rafael Frias III Voted President-Elect of the American Water Resources Association, Narvaez Ascends to Presidency

Share Article

American Water Resources Association members Rafael Frias III, Martha Narvaez, Betsy Cody and Laurel Stadjuhar move into new leadership roles with the organization.

Rafael Frias III

I am truly honored and humbled to be selected president-elect of AWRA. --Rafa Frias, 2016 AWRA President-Elect

The American Water Resources Association (AWRA), the premier non-governmental organization dedicated to the advancement of multidisciplinary water resources management and research, is pleased to announce that Rafa Frias was voted president-elect by members during a recent national election. AWRA members also chose Betsy Cody and Laurel Stadjuhar to sit on the organization's Board of Directors.

“I would like to welcome Rafael Frias as president-elect,” said AWRA President Martha Narvaez. “Now, more than ever, AWRA plays critical roles—convener, content leader, and connector—in the field of water resources and I am excited to work with Rafa to continue AWRA’s important work. I would also like to welcome Betsy Cody and Laurel Stadjuhar to AWRA’s Board of Directors. Thank you for your commitment and service to AWRA. I look forward to working with the entire Board of Directors in 2016.”
Narvaez, Frias, Cody and Stadjuhar all assumed their new offices on January 1, 2016. At that time, John Tracy became AWRA immediate past-president.

“I am truly honored and humbled to be selected President-Elect of AWRA,” replied Frias when asked about his reaction to the election results. “Great men and women have served our organization and I look forward to supporting our new president, Martha Narvaez, in maintaining the momentum created by our predecessors.”

The following officers and directors will begin their terms of service on January 1, 2016:
President – Martha Corrozi Narvaez, University of Delaware
President-Elect – Rafael E. Frias III, Black & Veatch, Pompano Beach, FL
Director – Betsy Cody, Congressional Research Service, Washington, DC
Director – Laurel Stadjuhar, West Sage Water Consultants, Denver, CO

Continuing their remaining terms as AWRA Board members for 2016 are:
Past-President – John C. Tracy, Texas Water Resources Institute, College Station, TX
Secretary-Treasurer – Noel Gollehon, USDA-NRCS, Beltsville, MD
Director – Lisa Beutler, MWH Global, Inc., Sacramento, California
Director – Wayne S. Wright, GeoEngineers, Inc., Seattle, Washington
Director – Brenda O. Bateman, Oregon Water Resources Department, Salem, OR
Director – L. Donald Duke, Florida Gulf Coast University, Ft. Myers, FL

For more information on AWRA’s Officers and Board of Directors, including bios., visit the Board of Directors page of AWRA's website.

About AWRA
Since 1964, American Water Resources Association has been dedicated to the advancement of water resources management, research and education, as well as a balanced approach toward solving water resources challenges. AWRA’s membership is comprised of professionals who share a common interest in working and learning across a wide range of disciplines focused on water resources policy, practice and education. Visit AWRA.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Christine McCrehin
Follow >
American Water Resources Association
since: 04/2010
Like >
Visit website