CPCU Society Installs 2016 Leadership Council Members

Share Article

The 2016 CPCU Society Leadership Council members assumed their duties this month. All were elected by leadership members at the 2015 CPCU Society Annual Meeting, which took place October 2 to 6 in Indianapolis.

The 2016 CPCU Society Leadership Council members assumed their duties this month. All were elected by leadership members at the 2015 CPCU Society Annual Meeting, which took place October 2 to 6 in Indianapolis.

The CPCU Society provides resources, educational programs and leadership opportunities for its 22,000 members in the property-casualty insurance industry. Its Leadership Council provides input on the strategic direction and performance of Society chapters, interest groups, committees and task forces.

Officers of the 2016 CPCU Society Leadership Council include:

  •     President and Chair: Brian P. Savko, CPCU, CLU, ChRC, MSFS, FLMI, works in the property-casualty insurance division of State Farm’s Murfreesboro, Tennessee, office. Before assuming this role, he had served as the Society’s secretary and treasurer since 2008. Savko also previously chaired the CPCU Society Budget & Finance Committee, Audit Committee and Investrment Committee and served as president of the Mid-Tennessee CPCU Society Chapter. He holds a master’s degree in financial services from the American College in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania.
  •     President-Elect: Michael Koscielny Jr., CPCU, CIC, ARe, is director of underwriting at Florida Peninsula Insurance Company. He has more than 35 years experience in the insurance industry, in roles including assistant vice president, property-casualty underwriting, at American Modern Insurance Group/MunichRe America and regional director of underwriting at the Auto Club Group.
  •     Secretary/Tresurer: Stanley W. Plappert, JD, CPCU, CLU, ARM, AMIM, CLU, ChFC, practices law in Ocala, Florida, and owns Plappert Insurance Group, Inc. He previously served on the board of directors of the Florida Independent Insurance Agents and of two community banks, as well as served on committees of the CPCU Society International Insurance Interest Group and the CPCU Society Agent & Broker Interest Group.
  •     Immediate Past President: Jane M. Wahl, CPCU, CSSBB, CMG/OE, CLU CQIA, FLMI, is a process manager in State Farm’s Jacksonville, Florida office. She has served as a Society governor and a member of the CPCU Society Budget and Finance Committee, as well as on various task forces and in chapter leadership for the Society. Wahl also chaired Duval County’s Pre-Disaster Mitigation program for ten years and is a founding member of the Federal Alliance for Safe Homes. She serves on the board for the University of Florida’s Smathers Library and is an ASQ Six Sigma Black Belt.

This year’s new CPCU Society Leadership Council members include:

Aaron E. Lunt, JD, CPCU, ARe, is senior counsel, head of regulatory affairs for The Warranty Group (TWG). Prior to joining TWG, he spent over five years with Zurich North America.

Bryan Tedford, CPCU, ARM, was most recently executive vice president at ACE Group, where he was instrumental in breaking down barriers between ACE’s U.S. and International Casualty underwriting departments to secure better reinsurance terms. Bryan has been on different CPCU Society task forces and committees and is still very active with his New York CPCU Chapter.

Cary Depel, JD, CPCU, LLM, is an adviser, investor and entrepreneur in the sectors of data analytics prediction, the next generation of stem cell applicants, enhanced combustion and crowdfunding. He is an English solicitor and qualified to practice law in California, England and Wales.

Elaine George, CPCU, RPLU, ARM, is an international executive underwriter at ACE USA, where she is responsible for structuring multinational programs and marketing ACE’s global capabilities. She previously served as a business development manager for USLI, as a commercial and personal lines underwriter in Maine and as a retail broker in New York City. George chairs the CPCU Society International Insurance Interest Group (3iG) and served as secretary of the interest group from 2010 to 2013. She holds the CPCU®, RPLU, ARM™ and ASLI™ designations.

Rob Galbraith, MS, CPCU, CLU, ChFC, is a director in the property-casualty property underwriting area at United Services Automobile Association (USAA). He has more than 18 years of experience in the financial services industry and holds a master’s degree in insurance management.

Rodney K. Stoffels, MBA, CPCU, CIC, is regional underwriting manager for the western region of the Main Street America Group. Previously, he was president of the Minnesota CPCU Society Chapter, for which he taught numerous CPCU® classes. He holds a master’s degree in insurance management.

About the CPCU Society
The CPCU Society is a community of credentialed insurance professionals who promote excellence through ethical behavior and continuing education. The Society’s more than 22,000 members hold the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU®) designation, which requires passing eight rigorous examinations, meeting industry experience requirements and agreeing to be bound by a strict code of professional ethics.
The CPCU Society is affiliated with The Institutes, the leader in delivering proven knowledge solutions that drive powerful business results for the risk management and property-casualty insurance industry. The CPCU designation is conferred by The Institutes. More information about the CPCU Society is available at http://www.CPCUSociety.org.

CPCU is a registered trademark of The Institutes. All rights reserved.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Meghan Richter
The Institutes
+1 (610) 644-2100 Ext: 7851
Email >