Swing Thought Tour Returns to News Sentinel Open in Knoxville

Share Article

Web.com News Sentinel Open event exemption awarded to Swing Thought Tour for 2016

“The News Sentinel Open is another great opportunity for our players to compete in and get them one step closer to where they want to be.” -Robin L. Waters, PGA, Swing Thought Tour President

The Swing Thought Tour announces today that the Web.com Tour’s News Sentinel Open has once again granted an exemption to the Swing Thought Tour for the 2016 season. The 2016 event will mark the sixth year in a row Swing Thought has been granted exemption into the long-standing event.

“Providing our players with the best opportunities in order to help reach their ultimate goals is what we focus on and do,” stated Swing Thought Tour president Robin L. Waters, PGA. “The News Sentinel Open is another great opportunity for our players to compete in and get them one step closer to where they want to be. We couldn’t be more thankful for the News Sentinel Open’s generous opportunity for our players.”

The News Sentinel Open has long been a stepping-stone for former Swing Thought Tour players in realizing their dream of playing on the PGA Tour. Past champions include Swing Thought Tour alumni Vaughn Taylor, Chris Kirk, Heath Slocum, Robin Freeman, Eric Johnson, and Tim Conley. The event is one of the oldest and most storied events in the tour’s history. Knoxville is joined by Boise, Idaho, Springfield, Mo., and Wichita, Kan., in having hosted a Web.com Tour event every year since 1990. Fox Den Country Club has been the host venue in Knoxville every year since 1999.

This year’s News Sentinel Open is scheduled from Thursday, August 18th through Sunday August 21st at Fox Den Country Club. The addition will mark the sixth year in a row the Swing Thought Tour has been granted an exemption into the long-standing event.

Since the start of the 2010 season, the Swing Thought Tour (formerly the NGA/Hooters and eGolf Tours) has secured over 50 Web.com and PGA Tour event exemptions for its members, the most for any developmental tour in the country. Although the Swing Thought Tour has been the leading developmental tour in receiving event exemptions since 2010, the Swing Thought Tour does not have any official affiliation with the PGA TOUR or Web.com Tour.

About Swing Thought Tour
Since its establishment in 1988, Swing Thought Tour alumni have won an amazing 17 Major Championships. Alumni include two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson, Masters and Open Champion Zach Johnson, PGA Championship winners Keegan Bradley, Shaun Micheel and David Toms, Open Champions Ben Curtis, Stewart Cink and Tom Lehman, U.S. Open Champions Jim Furyk, Lee Janzen, and Lucas Glover, Open and PGA Champion John Daly, Tour Championship winners Chad Campbell, Billy Mayfair, and Camilo Villegas, and recent PGA Tour winners such as Smylie Kaufman, Emiliano Grillo, Matt Every, Robert Streb, Ben Martin, Kevin Streelman, Michael Thompson, Ted Potter Jr., Gary Woodland, Chris Kirk, John Senden, Brian Harman, Brendon Todd, Chesson Hadley, Russell Henley, Mark Wilson, George McNeill, Scott Stallings, Scott Piercy, and many many more. In addition, 87 of the 150 players who competed in the 2015 Web.com Tour Q School Final Stage were past players on the Swing Thought Tour.

For more information on the Swing Thought Tour visit SwingThought.com or call 800-992-8748.
Be sure to follow us on Twitter @SwingThought and on Facebook at http://www.SwingThought.com/

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marissa Hinchman
Visit website