Dr. Larry Feinman Named 2016 Roger Schenke Award Winner

Share Article

The American Association for Physician Leadership® has announced Larry Feinman, DO, FACOS, winner of the Roger Schenke Award.

The American Association for Physician Leadership® has announced Larry Feinman, DO, FACOS, winner of the Roger Schenke Award. The association presented the award at its annual meeting, April 15, 2016, in Washington, D.C.

In 2012, Feinman, chief medical officer at HCA West Florida in Tampa, initiated a patient safety and outcomes improvement program through the 16 hospitals, three free-standing emergency departments and 14 ambulatory surgical centers in his division. The program focuses on giving each facility’s chief medical officer the educational tools he or she needs to drive the clinical excellence agenda Feinman sets, and CMOs share what they learn with their facility colleagues. Lessons learned in one facility are shared throughout the division. Outcome improvements reported include reduced mortality in patients with septic shock by 29 percent, reduced vascular catheter infection by 74 percent and reduced geriatric fracture arrival to incision time by 33 percent.

“Innovation with education of physician leaders is a critical component for the ongoing successes of health care,” said association president and CEO Peter Angood, MD, FRCS(C), FACS, MCCM. “Larry Feinman’s program exemplifies how that can improve patient outcomes.”

Evaluators were impressed by the educational program’s direct, data-supported relationship to improved patient care.
The Roger Schenke Award, created in 2014 for the 40th anniversary of the association, honors individual vision, commitment and innovation in creating education and training programs to improve patient safety and enhance physician leadership. It is named for Roger Schenke, who in 1975 founded the organization that has become the American Association for Physician Leadership®. Scott Ellner, DO, MPH, MHCM, FACS, president of the Saint Francis Medical Group in Hartford, Connecticut, was the inaugural winner in 2015.

About the American Association for Physician Leadership®
The American Association for Physician Leadership® is the preeminent U.S.-based organization for physician leaders worldwide. The association, formerly known as the American College of Physician Executives (ACPE), serves physicians at all stages of their careers through leadership education, career support and policy advocacy. Since its founding in 1975, it has grown to more than 11,000 members, including CEOs, chief medical officers and other top leaders. They hail from 47 nations worldwide. The association is known for its award-winning bi-monthly magazine, PLJ, and its other publications as well as for world-class leadership education, available to member and nonmember physicians. Its continuing medical education (CME) courses, offered online and at live conferences, can be applied to advanced degrees and certifications and are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). Learn more online at physicianleaders.org, by email at info(at)physicianleaders(dot)org, on Twitter at @physicianslead or call 800-562-8088.

Brittany Hink
Membership Coordinator

American Association for Physician Leadership®
400 North Ashley Drive
Tampa, Florida, 33602

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Bill Steiger
American Association for Physician Leadership
+1 8136362826
Email >