University of Texas Student Awarded ASQ Healthcare Division Scholarship

Share Article

Kook-Willis recognized for healthcare quality work in geriatric care

healthcare, quality, geriatric, aging, scholarship, education

Heidi Kook-Willis winner of this year's Nightingale Healthcare Scholarship

We really admire Ms. Kook-Willis' strong commitment to healthcare quality as an advocate for older adults and in the field of geriatric care - Chona Sano, ASQ Healthcare Division Nightingale Scholarship Committee Co-Chair

The Healthcare Division of ASQ has awarded the $2,000 Nightingale Scholarship to Heidi Kook-Willis from Austin, Texas, for demonstrating an outstanding commitment to pursuing quality improvement in the healthcare field.

The scholarship will be announced during ASQ’s 2016 World Conference on Quality and Improvement in Milwaukee at the Healthcare Division Members’ Reception on Monday, May 16.

Kook-Willis is currently working toward her graduate degree as an adult geriatric primary care nurse practitioner at the University of Texas, Medical Branch School of Nursing, Galveston, Texas. She is employed as a telemetry nurse at Seton Medical Center Hays in Kyle, Texas, and as a palliative nurse at Home Therapy of Austin. She is also class of 2017 student representative for the UTMB School of Nursing AGPCNP.

“I am honored to be the recipient of the 2016 Nightingale Scholarship,” Kook-Willis said. “This award will enable me to continue pursuing my graduate work in geriatric care while I continue to advocate for injury prevention among our older adult population. ASQ has provided me with a network of knowledgeable professionals that I’m sure will prove to be invaluable to my future academic and professional development.”

The ASQ scholarship is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing who also pioneered healthcare statistics and promoted quality reforms in hygienic hospital care.

“We really admire Ms. Kook-Willis’ strong commitment to healthcare quality as an advocate for older adults and in the field of geriatric care,” said Chona Sano, ASQ Healthcare Division Nightingale Scholarship Committee co-chair and senior accreditation and regulatory coordinator for Houston Methodist System. “We are proud to award the ASQ Nightingale Scholarship to Ms. Kook-Willis and look forward to witnessing her future contributions in the field.”

For more information and future scholarship eligibility requirements, please visit
ASQ Nightingale Scholarship application.

About ASQ
ASQ is a global community of people dedicated to quality who share the ideas and tools that make our world work better. With millions of individual and organizational members of the community in 150 countries, ASQ has the reputation and reach to bring together the diverse quality champions who are transforming the world’s corporations, organizations and communities to meet tomorrow’s critical challenges. Celebrating 70 years in 2016, ASQ, with its world headquarters in Milwaukee, Wis., USA, operates regional centers in the U.S. and Canada, North Asia, South Asia, Latin America and Middle East and Africa. Learn more about ASQ’s members, mission, technologies and training at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Christel Henke
American Society for Quality
+1 (414) 332-2933
Email >

Christel Henke
Follow >
Visit website