Oculus Rift Founders to be Honored at Academy of Art University Annual Media Awards

Share Article

Creators of the virtual reality headset to be presented with Visionary Award

Academy of Art University on Friday, May 13, will present the Visionary Award to Colum Selvin, General Manager of Oculus Rift, on behalf of Oculus Rift founders Brendan Iribe and Palmer Luckey, at the university’s annual Media Awards event. The Media Awards, which will be attended by film, television, graphic design and gaming luminaries, recognizes the outstanding talent of student work from the Academy’s Schools of Acting, Advertising, Animation & Visual Effects, Game Development, Graphic Design, Motion Picture & Television, Multimedia Communications, Music Production and Sound Design for Visual Media, Visual Development, Web Design & New Media and Writing for Film, Television & Digital Media.

Awards will be presented in the following categories: animated short film, cinematography, directing, documentary, film editing, game design, motion graphics, motion picture, music score, music video, original screenplay, podcast, production design, sound design, visual effects, branded content, commercial, complete campaign, on-camera female, on-camera male, performance by an actor in a class scene, performance by an actor in a student film, performance by an actress in a class scene, performance by an actress in a student film.

Distinguished industry guests include: Kate Amend (Oscar-winning editor, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences governor), David Ansen (former Newsweek critic, former Los Angeles Film Festival director), Hussain Currimbhov (Sundance Film Festival selection committee member), Bruce Ferber (producer, Home Improvement, Clueless), Liz Glotzer (producer, The Shawshank Redemption), Marc Jacobs (vice president, film at Scott Sanders Productions, The Odd Life of Timothy Green, Evita, The Color Purple), Scott Kroopf (producer, The Last Samurai, Limitless, Jumanji), Kate Lupo (founder and CEO, EntryLevelHollywood.com), Jana Sue Memel (Oscar-winning short filmmaker, Lieberman in Love, Ray’s Male Heterosexual Dance Hall), Scott Sanders (award-winning director, Black Dynamite), Jennie Lew Tugend (producer, Free Willy, Lethal Weapon), Lauren Weissman (president, Danika Productions and former president, Jane Fonda Films), Jerry Zucker (Academy Award-nominated director, Ghost, Airplane, The Naked Gun).

The Media Awards will be held Friday, May 13, at the historic landmark Castro Theatre in San Francisco. The red carpet kickoff starts at 6:30 pm and the awards ceremony begins at 7:30 pm.

The event is free and open to the public but seating is limited and on a first-come, first-served basis. To receive free tickets, click on the following link and print your ticket: http://www.academyart.edu/content/dam/news_events/events/2016-Media-Awards-E-Ticket.pdf

The event can also be watched live at http://www.academyart.edu/media

About Academy of Art University

Academy of Art University is the largest accredited private art and design university in the nation. Founded in 1929, the school offers accredited AA, BA, BFA, BS, B.Arch, MA, MFA, and M.Arch degree programs in 30 areas of study, as well as continuing art education, pre-college art experience programs, certificates and teacher grants. Classes are available in Acting, Advertising, Animation & Visual Effects, Architectural Design, Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Teaching Credential, Automotive Restoration, Costume Design, Fashion, Fashion Journalism, Fashion Styling, Fine Art, Game Development, Game Programming, Graphic Design, Illustration, Industrial Design (Transportation & Product Design), Interior Architecture & Design, Jewelry & Metal Arts, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures & Television, Multimedia Communications, Music Production & Sound Design for Visual Media, Photography, Studio Production for Advertising & Design, Visual Development, Web Design & New Media, and Writing for Film, Television & Digital Media. Students can also enroll in flexible online degree programs in most areas of study.

Academy of Art University is an accredited member of WSCUC, NASAD, CIDA (BFA-IAD, MFA-IAD), NAAB (B.Arch, M.Arch) and CTC (California Teacher Credential). For more information, visit academyart.edu or call 1.800.544.2787 (U.S. only) or 415.274.2200.

Media Contacts:

Wendy Tanaka/Sitrick And Company, wtanaka(at)sitrick.com (415) 369-8447
Mark Veverka/Sitrick And Company, mveverka(at)sitrick.com (415) 369-8454

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Wendy Tanaka
Academy of Art University
+1 (415) 369-8447
Email >
Visit website