Arizona Authors' Association Announces 2016 International Literary Awards Finalists

Share Article

List of 2016 Literary Award Finalists by category, with Awards Gala information and Association and Literary Contest Summary

Arizona Literary Awards Gala Logo
These excellent authors were selected from over 300 submissions, representing the largest literary contest the Association has sponsored since 1980. Lisa Aquilina, President Arizona Authors' Association

The Arizona Authors’ Association announced the finalists in Arizona’s finest literary competition. Winners will be presented in Phoenix on November 5, 2016 at the Association’s 35th Annual Awards Gala and Silent Auction. Works by all finalists will be published in the Arizona Literary Magazine 2017 scheduled for release in late Fall 2016.

GREEN PIECES PRESS 2016 ARIZONA BOOK OF THE YEAR and all category winners will be awarded during Arizona Literary Awards Gala and Silent Auction, Saturday, November 5, 2016, Embassy Suites Biltmore, Phoenix, Arizona. For Ticket Information, email Lisa at AzAuthors(at)gmail(dot)com or call 602-554-8101. Reservation deadline is October 14, 2016.

Established in 1980, the Association’s awards program honors both unpublished and published international literary excellence and has launched the career of many authors. The program expanded last year to include the Green Pieces Press Arizona Book of the Year. Literary prizes and honors are listed at

A list of the 2016 literary finalists (alpha by title) follows:


Bereft, by Bruce L. Reynolds                                        
Earth’s Core Made of Candy, by Katherine Atwell Herbert        
Freediving for Pearls, by Chelsea Grieve
Guitars Weep Into Wineglasses, by Sarah Leonard
Just Not West 47th Street, by Bruce L. Reynolds
Love’s Sequence, by Joseph Ridgway

Muffins, by Wendy Memoli
My Mother’s Voice, by Nancy Scheneman-Brehm
Tears Speak Spirits Soar, by Linda S. Bierwagen

SHORT STORY                                                
Aunt Gussie and the Enemy Within, by Robert Natiello            
Sweet Water, by Nancy Chaney                                
The Case of the Old Colt, by John Hansen                    
The Moment, by Katherine Atwell Herbert                     

Charlie’s Story, by John Hansen
How Are Things With You?, by Diane Phelps Budden
The Bat is Dead, by Terryl Warnock
The Waiting Room, by Laurie Wilson Fatland

Hidden Ones – A Veil of Memories, by Marcia Fine
Midnight Landing, by Casey Thorne
The ISIS Affair, by J. David Rich
Voiceless Whispers: A New Shaman’s Calling, by Jane Ruby


Burning Sky, by R.S. Scott                            
Filtered, by G.K. Lamb                                
Knocking on Heaven’s Door, by Sharman Apt Russell                    
Last Tango in Timbuktu, by Tim Schaefer                
Peril by Ponytail, by Nancy J. Cohen                    
The Permanent Solution, by Merle McCann
The Presence of Justice, by Elvis L. Bray

Arizona On Stage: Playhouses, Plays, and Players in the Territory 1879-1912, by Thomas P. Collins
Chatto’s Promise: An Apache Saga, by John Sandifer
Remember the Prisoners: He Came to Set the Captives Free, by Rev. Joaquin R. Larriba
Stories from History’s Dust Bin, Vols. 1-3, by Wayne Winterton, Ph.D.
Tremors in the Cloister: A Memoir, by Allan Spiegler

Blueberry Bear, by Eileen A. Pieczonka
Ellie Adventure Picking Out Puppies!, by Colleen Dougherty
The Ghost in the Convent, by Marianne Mitchell
Train to Glory, by Lisa Y. Potocar

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Drew Aquilina, Literary Awards Director